Here’s Another Example of Ireland Making Us Look like a Bunch of Pussies

My excellent sister just got back from Ireland bearing a couple of gifts that brought a tear to my eye.  They also nearly got me lacerated by a kitchen knife when Mrs. Grunt caught me taking them into the next room to photograph.  She thought I was going to eat them all myself!  She’s a smart gal to be concerned.



Click on the second image to embiggen, and take note of the warnings on the Guinness chocolate bar. “This product contains alcohol.”  Heh.  “Not suitable for children.”  Friggin’ awesome!

And incidentally, the other reason Ireland makes us look ridiculous is their pro-business policy, which has resulted in a ton of American business relocating there over the last few decades, keeping them employed and us impoverished, through self-inflicted stupidity.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Europe, Food, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Here’s Another Example of Ireland Making Us Look like a Bunch of Pussies

  1. Knight4GFC says:

    OMG! I so totally expect some from yas for Christmas! 🙂

  2. onefedupvoter says:

    Well now, I have always been a Guinness fan. But on a visit to a beer bar in Maryland I was introduced to Old Rasputin from North Coast brewery. Mmmmmm. There are still some good things coming out of California. Forget the wine (btw apparently Pelosi owns stock in Gallo which owns all sorts of labels), go for the beer.

    • barnslayer says:

      Maybe Pelosi got into that investment thanks to Teddy Submarine Kennedy.

    • Old Rasp is an imperial stout. You’re pretty hard core!

    • Aussie says:

      California wine is not a patch on a good drop of Australian wine. The best was probably the one from Santa Barbara, but all the same still not a patch on the Australian wines.

      • I must agree with you there, Aussie. We drink mostly Australian wine, because the quality is outstanding, and it’s a good value. I really don’t think the California wines are that bad, but they’re certainly not as consistent as Aussie wines.

        • Aussie says:

          well I did get a taste of California wines. It was a part of the entertainment on the train that tooks us from Seattle down to Los Angeles.

          We also felt the same about the Canadian wines. They are much more tart than the Aussie wines.

          We have many great locations as wine country including Margaret River, the Hunter District, Mudgee, Orange, South Australia and also in Victoria and Canberra. I never really tasted the Canberra wines, so cannot say too much about them. However, I do know the Hunter Valley wines, and those from South Australia.

  3. Ok, one more reason that the Irish make us look like wimps. This is the obvious one. Think Patriot Games. Sean or Paddy saying: “Your people can’t stand the thought of a little girl being stuck in a well pipe for a few hours. How would they deal with real civil war in this century?” I just saw the movie (again) a few nights ago, and it got me wondering. Either way this election turns, we could find out. Let’s hope not.

  4. texan59 says:

    Who’da thunk of beer IN chocolate. I’ve dropped my Hershey bar in a mug of beer and it was pretty tasty, all things considered, but this, this is sheer brilliance. 😀

  5. Knight4GFC says:

    Speaking of “Irish” the “Fighting Irish” college football team, Notre Dame, win an overtime thriller versus Pittsburgh Panthers. Wow. There is a player, Manti Teo, on the team from Hawaii who is in the Heisman trophy race. It was a really good game. Sorry in advance to anyone from Pittsburgh. 🙂

  6. ZurichMike says:

    ZurichMike reserves judgment on the quality of chocolate, which is not a core competence of Ireland. You will have to send me a case of each choclate bar for personal analysis.

    • I thought you might weigh in on this eventually. 😉

      Don’t worry, I would never challenge the Swiss on their invention of, and clear dominance in, the quality manufacture of chocolate. However, this stuff was pretty dang good! I doubt any more exists in the Western Hemisphere now that our bars are gone, but I’ll send you some next time I’m in Ireland!

      In the meantime, please make a suggestion to Lindt-Sprugli for me. I think they need to make a 70% dark chocolate bar filled with 100% Hendrick’s gin. After the Guinness bar, that’s the next step, I think. 😀

Leave a Reply

