Open Thread Tuesday, 2 April 2013

Snow-Leopard-eye-contact

This is about how I feel this morning. Time for a nap!

About zmalfoy

Z. Malfoy is a practicing Catholic-with-an-"interesting"-past. She earned her Bachelor's Degree in Music Education (Spec. Voice) from Loyola University New Orleans, and has since taken a few business courses to expand her knowledge base. In her free time, she studies belly-dance, alchemy, theology, and various skills related to self-sufficiency. She also enjoys reading science fiction, refreshing her French, and watching anime. She recently started with learning Krav Maga and Russian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Open Thread Tuesday, 2 April 2013

  1. Knight4GFC says:

    Yup! Same here. Time for a nap!

  2. Many American White Men Worship Guns Because of Sexual Insecurity…
    This is fun. “At first I thought it was an April Fool’s joke – something The Onion would pull, so over the top it is. But this unintentionally hysterically funny screed is what passes for deep thought on the left these days.”
    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2013/04/many_american_white_men_worship_guns_because_of_sexual_insecurity_entitlement_and_profit.html

    • barnslayer says:

      Did the article happen to explain why moslems use rape as a form of justice and honor?

      • No, but when I used to argue with the liberals at work, they always explained that the moslems had only the most honorable intentions in everything they did… because they know. Liberals are good at mind reading. They would also assure me that I only believed in God because I was indoctrinated at an early age, and that virtually everything I thought or felt my whole life was just prejudice! Those guys are amazing, how they know everything! πŸ˜€

    • zmalfoy says:

      I always took this line of thought to this conclusion: So. . . if guns are a psychological substitute for certain body parts. . . then men who love guns must be closeted (or, in some cases, not-so-closeted) homosexuals. . . so this whole anti-gun thing is really an ugle expression of severe homophobia, right? How intolerant! Lefties should be supporting male gun owners and encouraging to express their inner feelings, right? There should be Gun Pride Days, with gents and dames waltzing through the street showing their tricked out ARs and Rainbow Colored AKs, right?

      [Please note, gentlemen and ladies, that I do not myself hold to the hypothesis that guns are such a substitute, therefore I believe that your love of firearms and your sexual orientation are mutually exclusive.]

  3. ZurichMike says:

    Dear Knight4GFC,

    If your ears were burning today, it’s because this blog’s prominent message inspired me when I was asked to write a note for my niece who is graduating from high school. Friends and family were asked by the school to send words of advice to the graduating seniors. Letters will be collected and presented at the senior breakfast later in April. In my rather long letter to my niece, I reminded her of how lucky she is to be so bright, and have such a nice, Western life — unlike the *billions* who do not. I listed my advice (8 items) and the very first item was that she dedicate her talents and good fortune to the glory of God, family, and country — in that order.

    Thanks for the inspiration this site brings.

    Kind regards,

    ZurichMike

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Although I do not fully understand what you are saying, whatever praise you are singing belongs to all the members here at For God, Family, and Country. I am just a Knight – for GFC.

      • ZurichMike says:

        Sorry, maybe wrote too quickly. Niece’s school has an event for graduating seniors — a breakfast hosted by the junior class. At the breakfast, each graduating senior is given a bundle of letters that the school has collected from the friends and families of the graduating seniors. The school had earlier sent a message to the parents of graduating seniors requesting that the parents ask friends and families to write something about the graduating family member and send it to the school for the event. My brother asked me to write something for his daughter, my niece. I wrote a nice letter, and reminded her how lucky she is to be so bright and talented and have had the opportunity to achieve. I then followed with a list of 8 items of advice. The first is that she should dedicate her talents and good fortune to the glory of God, family, and country. For this bit of advice, I relied on this site’s name!

        • Knight4GFC says:

          Thank you for sharing this with us ZMike! I am happy to hear that the hard work of the people here at 4GFC to maintain true morals and principles in this world, has been an inspiration to you. You are welcome!

        • Awesome, ZMike! πŸ™‚ I think these letters of encouragement, like the one you wrote, are a great help and a wonderful opportunity to share the things you don’t normally talk about. Funny how the most important things are off-limits most of the time. Good for you.

        • Bob says:

          Bravo ZMIke!

    • Bob says:

      When one of my friends first posted a story about this on Facebook, we all immediately piled on the horrible mother who (we thought) tried to kill a baby she didn’t want, and then after the baby somehow survived the incompetent abortionist’s “procedure,” turned around and sued the abortionist for failing to kill the unwanted baby. After reading this article I see that it’s more complicated than that. The baby was apparently not unwanted, but the mother suffers from a rare condition that really does make pregnancy and childbirth dangerous, even life-threatening, for her. It was one of those exceedingly rare situations where abortion actually was probably less dangerous to the mother than pregnancy and childbirth. Her doctor advised her to abort, which she did only reluctantly. After she found out that the abortionist had failed to kill her baby, she and the baby’s father decided to carry her to term, even at risk to her own life, and I have to give her credit for that. She had to endure the rest of the pregnancy not only concerned for her own health and life, but also wondering what damage the abortionist might have done to her already-fragile reproductive system, not to mention to her baby. I can’t imagine the emotional anguish she must have gone through. What if the baby had survived, but had had an arm or leg torn off by the abortionist? What if the mother died giving birth because of damage to her body from the failed abortion? She must have been worried sick the entire time. But she stuck it out, and by some miracle the little girl was born healthy and whole. I don’t blame the mother for suing the abortionist for her emotional suffering. She ought to sue the doctor who told her to kill the baby in the first place, too, but I’m sure it would be a waste of time; probably 90% of doctors — at least the non-Catholic ones — would have given any woman in her position the same advice, given her medical history. Anyhow, the story has a happy ending. Mom and baby are both alive and healthy, and they have a lovely family. And if the abortionist loses the lawsuit and has to pay out big bucks, so much the better.

      • All good points, Bob. She deserves some real credit, after all. Still, it’s going to take some tact to explain it all to the little girl some day.

        • Bob says:

          Yeah, I don’t envy her THAT job. I expect she’ll blame it on the MD who advised her to abort — that’s what I would do if I were in her position, which thank God I am not. I’d say, “Sweetheart, Dr. Dimbulb told me that you and I were both going to die if I didn’t do what he said, and I was so afraid that I listened to him and took his advice, but I shouldn’t have, because he was wrong — but we were so lucky, because it didn’t work, and you and are both alive! Isn’t it wonderful? We are so lucky! And I’m SO glad he was wrong!”

  4. solaratov says:

    Li Ming……………….

    http://sweasel.com/archives/11632

    πŸ‘Ώ

Leave a Reply

