Open Thread, Sunday 21 April 2013

horsetailff
Six-pack of bacon-flavored beer for anyone who can tell me what this is.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Open Thread, Sunday 21 April 2013

  1. Knight4GFC says:

    Aloha Kakahiaka! Happy Sunday all!
    This looks like a fall of some sorts. How this fall glows like this, I have no idea. Never seen this.

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Whoa! I “accidentally” cheated. I know what this is. I’ll just say brother Grunt, that you gave it away. Haha! πŸ™‚

      • barnslayer says:

        I figured it was the edge of a volcano but have no idea where it is.

      • Yes, I left a key name in the photo ID that probably helped you out! But I did take care to alter the name so that it didn’t spell out exactly what it was… so it wasn’t tooooo easy. πŸ™‚

          • solaratov says:

            Horsetail Falls. Glacier Point. Yosemite.

            Sunset in February.

            Happens one time each year.

            πŸ˜‰

            • solaratov says:

              Just read further down, and found that it’s NOT Horsetail Falls. It’s amazing how similar they look, though.

            • It’s difficult to tell by looking at them, but it’s possible that this photo I put up is actually a sunset glint photo, like Sol says. I can’t tell the difference sometimes. It was labeled “Horesetail Firefall”, indicating to me that it was a picture of a firefall near Horsetail falls. However, all recent photos would be, by necessity, photos of sunset light on the water vapor, so it might be that. Here’s an older photo of one of the firefalls(I think). In any case, the one posted several comments below is definitely one of the older firefalls, taken in the darkness.

  2. Knight4GFC says:

    Leftists

    Maybe this is why the leftist, progressive, liberal, media wanted the bombers to be white males from the tea party.

  3. Six-pack of bacon-flavored beer for anyone who can tell me what this is.

    Sunset rays illuminating the water vapor of Horsetail Fall, which flows over the eastern edge of El Capitan in Yosemite Valley.

    • Close. Very close. It is Horsetail Falls in Yosemite. I will post another photo in a few minutes taken in the dark to show that it’s not sunset light, however, but something else. Does that give it away? Hint: These photos can’t be taken anymore. Not since the last millenium, as far as I know.

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Haha! πŸ˜€
      Grunt gave this away for me. All I did was click on the image to blow it up. When it loaded, that’s when I figured it out. Lol. πŸ™‚ I guess you get the bacon-flavored beer. If anyone would have figured it out, I knew it would be you. After all, you say that you are a “black-belt at google-fu”. Haha… unless you’ve seen this before. How are yas doin’ RP?

  4. I’m not sure if the picture above is from the “firefall” of coals, or of the suset on the water… I’m thinking it’s probably the first, but perhaps it could be either one…

  5. This one’s for Bob and her cats.

  6. trebor smith says:

    glacier point, yosemite

Leave a Reply

