Open Thread, Friday 17 May 2013

Mahasen_May_13_2013_0755Z
Cyclonic Storm Mahasen, shown hammering the east coast of India on Monday. The storm, which is the first named eastern storm of the season, is now over the Indian state of Nagaland after causing 16 fatalities in India and Sri Lanka, one in Thailand, 14 in Bangladesh, 4 in Indonesia and 8 in Myanmar.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Open Thread, Friday 17 May 2013

    • barnslayer says:

      Either I’m still half asleep or she isn’t saying a whole lot.

      • Coyote says:

        GOOD. A buddy emailed that link to me and said “…see!?!?! It’s bombshell proof they were on to something…the General was railroaded!!!”
        I failed to see anything of any significance, too. Glad to know it’s not something wrong with my cognitive skills….er…well, completely wrong with me, at least. I’m just not the smartest guy walking around, so I took that into account.

        • barnslayer says:

          Railroaded or not. I got the feeling Gen. Petraeus was more of a politician than a soldier.
          Kinda like Colin Powell acted and not like a real military leader… Gen. Schwarzkopf.

  1. freedom1781 says:

    I’m listening to the IRS hearing right now. I f*ckin’ hate Democrats. They can not give up their disgust with the Citizens United verdict. I wish they’d shut up about it. I’m just waiting for one of them to bring up sequestration.

    • freedom1781 says:

      OMG!!! Some Dem. rep. said that the IRS needs MORE MONEY AND MORE EMPLOYEES AND MORE TRAINING to interpret the more complex tax code. WTF!!!! I can think of a much better solution….

      • Coyote says:

        …uhm….like SIMPLIFY the tax code? Or something…

        Damn. My brain is fried after that one. It’s beer Friday. And fried chicken.

        I have no idea why I said that.

        • barnslayer says:

          Yep… a real new concept. Remember Steve Forbes or more recently Herman Cain?

        • Works for me. It’s a little unorthodox for a southwesterner, but that’s ok.

          I’m still tasting some chicken-stuffed poblanos I had the other day with some hot pork green chili. Mmmmm. Could use another plate of those. Then maybe a nice Pacifico… πŸ™‚

          • Coyote says:

            Hey listen here you rowdy space rough neck, when you put fried chicken and beer on the table, don’t forget the mashed taters, coleslaw and macaroni and cheese.

            And paper towels.

            We gotta tell you everything?
            But hey, A+ on effort here.

            • Now yer talkin’. Coming right up.

              Hey, say what ya want, I may have to pass on the beer tonight. It’s been damn hot here all day, 90 degrees, which is pretty warm for May, so I’m going to squeeze about 20 limes and make some Hornitos tequila margs, on the rocks, with lotsa rocks. This’ll make it easier to get the wife drunk, anyway. πŸ˜‰

  2. freedom1781 says:

    Congressmen: Were Conservative Car Dealers Targeted for GM Closures?
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2013/05/17/congressmen-letter-GM-closures

    YES!!! I know of 2 in my area whose owners were both huge Republican supporters; they were forced to close their GM dealerships. Both dealerships were hugely successful. Another dealership refused to close after he lost the GM contract; he just switched to selling Mercedes and Audi.

  3. Hey, Shalini! How did you get through that big storm over the last few days?

  4. freedom1781 says:

    The Scathing Speech That Just Got a Near Standing Ovation During the IRS Hearing

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2013/05/17/the-scathing-speech-that-just-got-a-near-standing-ovation-during-the-irs-hearing/

    β€œThis is absolutely an overreach and this is an outrage for all America!” After Rep. Kelly said that, the place erupted in applause however, I wonder if it was applause from both libs and conservatives.

  5. barnslayer says:

    Here’s something you will enjoy.
    IRS questioned pro-life group the content of their members prayers:

    http://www.c-spanvideo.org/clip/4451911

  6. See, this is why Gruntessa needs to learn to use the shotgun. I keep tellin’ her. Not that we have one or anything… πŸ‘Ώ
    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2013/05/17/wisconsin-woman-reportedly-saves-husband-from-attacking-bear/
    Bob, tell me this wasn’t you. I would hope you’d be able to load a shotgun. Brave woman, though!

  7. Steven Miller IRS questioning by Ryan. What a crook.

Leave a Reply

