Open Thread, Wednesday 29 May 2013

Kclose

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Open Thread, Wednesday 29 May 2013

  1. Experts. They think we’re really stupid. This is an excerpt from an article in the late 70s that claimed the evidence for global “cooling” was so “massive” that no one could deny it. Sound familiar?

  2. This guy doesn’t have a U.S. Marine to hold an umbrella for him, and he’s already lost one lung to pneumonia, but he’s no sissy.
    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2013/05/29/pope-francis-gets-soaked-but-braves-the-rain-to-kiss-babies-and-greet-crowds-anyway/

    Unlike this guy.

  3. This is good. How could we make terrorists feel better about themselves? Hmmm. How about we KILL them and speed them on their way to virgin-land? πŸ˜€
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2013/05/28/Florida-High-School-Online-Class-Terrorists-Lack-Self-Esteem

  4. Coyote says:

    http://gigaom.com/2013/05/28/if-youre-disappointed-with-big-data-youre-not-paying-attention/

    Big Data is becoming more and more of what Big Government requires. Big Data needs huge computers and mainframes and computing clouds. Any question as to why that huge facility is being built? Analytical warfare. But with analysis, comes paralysis. Be sure to do something today that is completely not your regular regiment. Be an outlier. Be the point that can’t be explained, often enough. It screws up the info-metrics and the analytical pundit gurus.

    Just some interesting reading I found while I was sitting (rare occurrence) in the office before I left this afternoon and thought about it during the drive to the house.

    • MRM says:

      wait… what??? you go to an office?? Why, Coyote… I had no idea! Somehow I always picture you around a campfire, or out in the wilderness… Huh… go figure…!

      • Coyote says:

        Occasionally, I have to go to an office, yes. I hate it. Fortunately, it’s not my office. I do not require an office. I find that the most miserable people I know populate offices…ninnies and infected small-minded pansies.

        I just require a laptop, a place to sit and some kind of power source like a 12 volt battery and a converter. And a beer or six. Sometimes a 12 pack and a roll of Copenhagen.

        I’m usually in the sticks with my dog, my truck or my blacksmith shop, beaming into my interwebs via VERY remote bounce. It’s nicer that way. But, yes…sometimes, I have to go into an office every once in awhile. I’m not proud of it.

        Also, I do NOT wear tasseled penny loafers, and I don’t give a crap about arugula.

        Let’s not make a big deal about this. It’s not a pleasant subject. This was just an article I read to pass the time until I could talk to people to take care of business, all the while ignoring idiots who wanted to take up my time with idle chit-chat and intrusions into my personal business. It was a deflection technique that mimicked professional duties. It worked.

Leave a Reply

