Open Thread, Friday 9 August 2013

item0.size.0.0.adriatic-sea-roca-vecchia-italy-swimming-0612-775
It’s still summertime! And it’s a weekend! Relax hard! Relax fast! 😀
Can you guess where this one is, Harvey? Without looking at the filename?  If you can do it, I’ve got another case of low-cal, imaginary beer for you.  Aw, why not make it a case of Champagne?  Imaginary Champagne is cheap.  🙂

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Open Thread, Friday 9 August 2013

  1. Hey, it seems to have worked for Grunt.

  2. Stealing this from Pete over on PN.

    • solaratov says:

      Of course, if we were allowed to drill our own oil and gas, we wouldn’t need to dredge any ports for the “new super-tankers”.

      Choices:
      Spending billions to dredge out ports and more billions to buy oil…

      ……or……

      Allowing Americans to drill their own oil and sell it on the world market and take in billions…

      Hmmm. That’s a tough one, all right.

      👿

  3. Harvey says:

    Alright, I had to go for it. Credit me a case of imaginary beer (not low-cal or champagne, thank you).

    Without looking at the file name, searching bing images of “swimming holes” – Roca Vecchia, Italy.

  4. solaratov says:

    I can’t remember whether or not I posted this before.

    If not…enjoy.

    If I did…review is good for you. 😉


    *******************************************************************************************************************

    And, you can put this one in the Friday Footwear File……

    (Study the photo of Tactical Prancing in particular…it could save your life.//) 😆

    http://vuurwapenblog.com/2013/08/03/why-i-wear-flip-flops-while-shooting/

    👿

  5. solaratov says:


    👿

  6. barnslayer says:

    Back when we cared about victory…

    Nagasaki bombed August 9th 1945. Will we ever again be willing to send a message as clear as this to our enemies?

  7. Harvey says:

    For your weekend baking:

    Grunt — a spoon pie, with biscuit dough on top of stewed fruit, which is steamed, not baked. The name of Grunt may have come from the noise people made while eating it. Grunts are also known as Slumps.

  8. Here’s some easy gun trivia for you. Make and model of this European military rifle?

    This belongs to Bob’s hubby. It’s in outstanding condition, and even though I think it has the original finish on the stock, it’s one of the most beautiful stocks I’ve ever seen. It’s cut from a piece of wood that has perfectly straight grain for over 3 feet and then curves along the butt of the stock at just the perfect angle. Gorgeous.

    • ZurichMike says:

      Well, if you like that, I’ve got something to sell you: a vintage WWII French military rifle. Never used, dropped once.

      LOL!

      • See, this is exactly the kind of joking around that caused FrenchReader to stop visiting our site. Check yourself in to the time-out corner for 10 minutes, ZMike. 🙂

        • ZurichMike says:

          Why is Champs-Élysées in Paris lined with big trees?
          So the German army can march in the shade!

          OK, I’ll go to the time-out corner now.

          • Hey, don’t quit while you’re on a roll, ZM!

          • frenchreader says:

            ZM, this is mean of you, I know you’re joking !

            • ZurichMike says:

              Yes, I know, I am joking. I love the French. And contrary to the country’s reputation, I have never, ever had a bad customer experience in France! I don’t speak French, but I understand a bit and people are very charming and helpful, especially if you ask about FOOD and WINE and then they’ll talk your ear off. We spend a fabulous vacation in Auvergne last year — I know it’s not much of a vacation place for the French — but the region is a goldmine of Romaneseque art and architecture (our reason for choosing Auvergne), and, of course, good food and wine.

        • frenchreader says:

          It is OK, I am regularly visiting the site even if I do not make comments anymore ….

    • barnslayer says:

      Mauser M1871?

      • Nice job! More particularly an 1871/84 Mauser. German, apparently.

        • barnslayer says:

          If that is in the original finish in that condition it’s a great specimen!

          • No kidding. The action also really impressed me. It was clean and perfect and shined like platinum. Bob’s husband really keeps it well conditioned, too, and shoots it every now and then. It’s a real contrast to the other examples I’ve seen that have dark-looking frames and bolts and followers that were pitted and worn. I could be wrong about the finish, though. Being that old it’s probably been refinished in the last 50 years or so, and I’d never be able to tell.

  9. ZurichMike says:

    I’m sure you heard the shocking news that Oprah Winfrey was in Zurich. According to her, she was apparently treated poorly at a store in downtown Zurich. Oprah was here for Tina Turner’s wedding celebration, and Oprah decided to go shopping on her own. The area that Oprah went shopping was the “rich” side of the Limmat River that runs through Zurich (on the side of the Lindenhof). She was at the very high-end store Trois Pommes. This clothing and shoe store is very exclusive and incredibly expensive. People who frequent this store are well-dressed and oozing money. This whole little area is very high-end. Watches start at about $10,000.

    Apparently Oprah schlepped to the store (unsure if her gal-pal Gayle King was there) in her casual clothes (for Oprah, this means a track suit and sneakers) and without the advantage of her multiple make-up artists, hair and wig stylists, and clothing consultant, barged into the store probably looking like Aunt Esther from “Sanford and Son”. She wanted to see a purse and was surprised it cost $38,000 (for holding lipstick, a credit card, and some Tic-Tacs? really?), so the clerk, who speaks several languages (because Oprah only speaks English and thinks that wherever she is, people should speak English) offered to show her other bags that were less expensive, saying “That is [might be] too expensive for you” (a simple way for a non-native speaker of English to say “it is expensive, but we have others to show you”. I am guessing also that the clerk (who works on commission) thought Oprah was just some dumb American and part of a tour group thinking she could scoop up a deal on a souvenir. In short, the clerk pointed Oprah to less expensive things in the store, because (thinking Oprah to be just an average tourist not knowing how expensive things were) the clerk wanted to spare this customer the embarrassment of saying “gee, that’s a bit out of my league” if shown really expensive things (think about it: why would someone working on a commission point someone to something cheaper?).

    But of course, Oprah threw down the racism card immediately. No, Oprah, you have to remember that you might be the queen of liberal television in the US, but no one in Europe knows who you are, and frankly, no one in Europe cares. If you had entered the store dressed appropriately, spoke either German or French (the two most important NATIONAL languages here) you might have been treated better. Or better still, if you had your pal Tina Turner call the store (Tina is a frequent customer) and informed them that “my good friend Oprah Winfrey will be coming by and she doesn’t speak German — can you take care of her for me?”, you might have gotten better service. Granted, if you have the cash, I wouldn’t care what you were wearing if you bought something (think of that funny scene in “Pretty Woman” when Julie Roberts’ character, with armloads of expensive things, returns to the store that had refused her service because of the way she dressed at first). But please don’t think that because you’re a nobody in Europe, and you don’t follow our conventions, that somehow we’re at fault. It’s kind of like “no shirt, no service” but on a much higher level. Elitism in Europe is based on class, not race. If you look and act like a schlub, you’ll be treated like one.

    But this is suspiciously the same scenario in 2005 when Oprah was in Paris at the flagship store of Hermes in the trendy and very expensive 8th arrondissement and was denied entrance to the store. Oprah screamed racism, and it was dutifully reported as racism by CNN and the other media outlets based *solely* on what Oprah said, until they had to backtrack when the facts came out that she had showed up at the Hermes store as it was being closed and said in so many words “Do you know who I am?” but they kindly asked her to return the next day, as there was a private party being held in the store that evening. No, it’s racism according to Oprah. You have to wonder if she is trying to say “hey, I’m still relevant even though Barack Obama doesn’t return my calls now and I just made a mediocre movie about a black servant in the White House”.

    My better half says that when Oprah was in Paris, she probably said “I’m Oprah” and the French thought she was asking direction to the Opera (“Non, Madam, l’Opera c’est la!” [pointing down the street)

    End of rant.

  10. Sunny is in rare form. Hilarious.

  11. solaratov says:

    Woke up late? No time to fix a healthy coffee and bacon breakfast?
    Well, have I got the answer for you guys……


  12. solaratov says:

    Ya ever have one of those days, ladies……


    👿

  13. solaratov says:

    What’s that you say? You need to protect the littlest member of the household?
    Well, take a gander at this……


    • Awww, how cute… looks like she’s all ready for Halloween. Or the Renaissance Faire. Or maybe Shakespeare in the Park.

      • solaratov says:

        The hell you say!!! 😉

        That’s a highly-trained Special Operations WAR PIG.

        Cry Havoc! And loose the pigs of war! 😆

        👿

      • What??!!!? Shakespeare in the Park??? This is serious stainless steel body armor, Bird! This Guinea pig is going into battle. What kind of namby-pamby girlie website do you think this is? Sentry! Throw this bluebird out on her butt! 😀

        • barnslayer says:

          Besides, if you’re going to Central Park, I recommend kevlar over steel armor.

        • Uh… I take it you’ve never seen Richard II, Richard III, Henry IV, Henry V, or Henry VI, Grunt?

          • Oh, sure. Throw down the violent Shakespearean death card. But those are all actors playing with those fake swords. And most of them aren’t going to be reproducing any time soon, if you take my meaning. This WAR PIG is going to face the barbs of modern war: hot lead and napalm. And how do you know it’s a she? The armor completely covers the piggy nether regions. You can tell by the eyes? You’re a pig-whisperer now?

            • Well, now that you mention it, I suppose it could be a boy. Calico cats are always female, but maybe calico guinea pigs can be either sex. I never claimed to be an expert on porcine matters. I just thought the little piggy looked cute in her costume, and would fit in very well at an all-rodent Renaissance Faire, or an all-rodent performance of Henry V. Did I mention that I love rodents?

              • Well, I guess that’s ok. 🙂 So, that reminds me. Are GPs rodents or lagomorphs, like rabbits? It might be easier to like ’em if they’re lagomorphs, for me, since I used to raise rabbits, and I have a soft spot for those. But rodents are ok, unless they’re loose in the house.

              • Guinea pigs are rodents. My kids had a bunch of them when they were little, along with countless gerbils, hamsters, rats, etc. It was easy for them to talk me into letting them have them, since I’ve always liked rodents. My middle daughter also had an African pygmy hedgehog for a while, but I don’t think that qualifies as a rodent.

              • Those critters are all cute. Gruntessa has always had an aversion to them, though, even when there were hamsters in the house. But how can anyone not like them? Actually, I think Hamsters are lagos, unlike the rats and gerbils. The hamsters are related to pikas, which I’m sure are lagos, and are common, wild, in the Colorado high country. Not sure what hedgehogs are (except that they’re not hogs… ). Not sure why she doesn’t like the furry critters. Even rats are more tolerable than Democrat politicians.

              • Hamsters are lagomorphs? I never knew that!

                I love rabbits, and would probably like pikas too if I ever met one. My husband’s sister has kept rabbits as house pets and she says they’re really very easy to house train. I wish I could get one, but I doubt Rachel, Leah, Bessie, Pumpkin, Oscar, and Figaro would approve.

              • Oh, I’m sure they would have plenty of fun having rabbits to chase around. My bad, though. I was wrong. I just checked, and Wiki says hamsters are Rodentia. I could swear they were literally the same as pikas in the wild, since the first Syrian hamsters came from the same kind of rocky highlands that pikas inhabit, and they look similar.
                http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pika
                The pikas, however, are definitely lagomorphs, like rabbits. Sorry about the bad ID on the hamsters.

                If I can dig up some photos I’ve taken of Colorado pikas, you’d swear they were golden hamsters. They look identical. Oh well.

        • barnslayer says:

          I have it on the highest authority this GP is a boy. His favorite play is naturally…. Pygmalion.

  14. texan59 says:

    The updated redneck slip-n-slide. No, we do not have one yet at Rancho el Gordito. Yet.

  15. texan59 says:

    That swimmin’ hole is in Puerto Vallarta somewhere. I think.

    • Good guess. There is one like it on the Pacific coast of Mexico somewhere. But Harve identified it as Italy, and that’s how it’s labeled, so you’re gonna have to buy your own beer this time, Pard. 😉

Leave a Reply

