Open Thread, Sunday 25 August 2013

grizzly-bear-fight1

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Open Thread, Sunday 25 August 2013

  1. freedom1781 says:

    First!!

    That picture looks like one of the bear pictures that my mother took when my parents went to Alaska last year. She and my Dad took a lot of amazing pictures which make me want to visit the Last Frontier. Ahh, maybe one day….

    • I’m watching my brother’s great dane this week, and he’s about as big as those Alaskan brown bears, and fights with the other dog just as much. Do you want to borrow him? After he’s trashed your house and tracked mud and forest debris all over the floors, you might feel like you’re in the Last Frontier. πŸ˜€

  2. freedom1781 says:

    Hey Grunt, when I was at Busch Gardens the other day I saw someone who could pass as your twin brother. He was over at the bumper cars and not at some scary roller coaster so I knew it wasn’t you. Heh! πŸ™‚

    • Bumper cars, huh? Was he dressed like a rodeo clown? πŸ™‚

      Not surprising. Now that so many 40-50ish guys are shaving their heads and growing goatees, we all look alike.

    • How did DD do? Go on any scary rollercoasters with her?

      • freedom1781 says:

        We’ve got BG season passes so we go A LOT. No roller coasters. The only coaster we ride is the kiddie coaster in the Sesame Street section of the park. Though when she was four she told us that she wanted to ride:
        http://seaworldparks.com/en/buschgardens-williamsburg/Attractions/Rides/Alpengeist?from=Top_Nav
        Now that she’s older, she’s completely changed her mind. πŸ˜€

        • What?? You should totally take her on that! We’ve got one just like that here at Elitch Gardens in Denver. They call it “Top Gun” or something. You hang from the rails and do at least 2 loops and a bunch of high-g corkscrews. You don’t know what you’re missing! πŸ˜€

          • barnslayer says:

            My daughter and friends went to Cedar Point (Sandusky, Ohio) a couple of months ago . Supposedly has some of the top roller coasters in the world. #1 and #2 according to a TV show I was watching while she was away. Not my cuppa tea. I always think the thing is gonna break and send the cars off the rails, but they loved it.
            https://www.cedarpoint.com/things-to-do/roller-coasters

            • Cedar Point IS rumored to be the best for coasters, but I’ve never made it there. I agree with you about the safety. I view it like flying the airlines. The odds are pretty good, but they’re not perfect, so you have to be prepared for possible violent death whenever you do it. And some are definitely safer than others. There are some I just won’t do at all because the “death-trap” factor is high. Maybe I shouldn’t have been coaxing Freedom to take her young daughter on one, huh? 😯

              • barnslayer says:

                The death-trap factor is what keeps the wood construction roller coasters so popular.

              • I’m sure that with Coney Island so close, you have some good wood coasters to avoid. We’ve got one here called the Twister II that was re-built fairly recently, but it’s still the biggest death trap ever. I’ve ridden it a few times, and the chiropractor visit afterwards is always fun, but I swear it is gonna jump the track and kill everybody on board every time. I don’t do it any more.

              • barnslayer says:

                Last big roller coaster I went on was at Palisades Park a few years before they closed in 1971. The last roller coasters I rode were at Disney World, not in the same class at all.
                Though Space Mountain was punishing for me since I had both a neck muscle spasm and the tail end of a middle ear infection at the time. Here’s the Cyclone from Palisades Park NJ. Could you imagine Chris Christie on that?

  3. Bob! Are you missing a cat?

  4. Let me tell ya. The cubs these days… If it weren’t for Facebook, they’d never get out of the den at all.

  5. I think it’s obvious why Jarrett has SS protection. She’s the real POTUS, and anyone who might take action against the administration would know that, so she’s a huge target. She needs the earpiece dudes more than Barack does. He’s just a very expensive golf accessory. VERY expensive.
    http://dailycaller.com/2013/08/25/earpiece-envy-white-house-colleagues-skeptical-why-valerie-jarrett-has-detail/

  6. The real question is: “Why don’t Americans admit that Obama is supporting the Muslim Brotherhood?”
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Peace/2013/08/25/TIME-Egyptians-Believe-Obama-Backs-Muslim-Brotherhood

  7. Obama hard at work on Sunday. Just kidding! Golf round number 141.

    Sorry, posted the wrong link here and now I can’t find the one about Barry playing golf today. Then Barn commented on the Muslim Brotherhood link I duplicated from the comment above. Confused? Me too. 😳

  8. NASA remembers Mr. Armstrong on the one year anniversary of his death.

Leave a Reply

