Kirsten Powers’ Open Mind

You always knew there was something different about Fox News, USA Today, Newsweek and Daily Beast contributor Kirsten Powers.  When most Democrats said they had “open minds,” they really meant that they were closed to all but a rigidly defined ideology in the the most unbreakable way.  When Kirsten said it, she had a glimmer of integrity that made her willing to suffer to know the Truth.

The following is a brief excerpt from the Christianity Today article about Powers’ conversion story.  The story was also featured on Breitbart.com.  It’s very good.

KirstenPowers…I grew up in the Episcopal Church in Alaska, but my belief was superficial and flimsy. It was borrowed from my archaeologist father, who was so brilliant he taught himself to speak and read Russian. When I encountered doubt, I would fall back on the fact that he believed.

Leaning on my father’s faith got me through high school. But by college it wasn’t enough, especially because as I grew older he began to confide in me his own doubts. What little faith I had couldn’t withstand this revelation. From my early 20s on, I would waver between atheism and agnosticism, never coming close to considering that God could be real.

After college I worked as an appointee in the Clinton administration from 1992 to 1998. The White House surrounded me with intellectual people who, if they had any deep faith in God, never expressed it. Later, when I moved to New York, where I worked in Democratic politics, my world became aggressively secular. Everyone I knew was politically left-leaning, and my group of friends was overwhelmingly atheist.

Read the rest at Christianity Today.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in General Religiousness, God, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kirsten Powers’ Open Mind

  1. One of the things I find cool – yet disturbing – about her story is the role her father played in her early faith, then atheism, and possibly her eventual return to faith. He was a believer, but when she grew older and her father’s doubts were discussed with her, it was too much for her flimsy faith to bear. Just the fact that he entertained doubts crushed every glimmer in her. What does this say about the importance of our influence on others around us?

    It reminds me of C.S. Lewis, who told a story of being in the parlor of his atheist mentor one evening, smoking pipes and talking about the idiot Christians. At one point the mentor cursed the rum luck of there being so much good evidence that Jesus really existed and was who he said he was. Made it damn hard to dispute him sometimes. That one revelation of doubt staggered Lewis and sent him on the road to being one of the greatest Christian apologists of all time.

    So, does this mean that as fathers and mothers and brothers and friends, we should put up a false front of certainty and always pretend to be secure in our faith (or non-faith) so that our children are not led astray on our accounts? Not even close, but that’s sure the way the Enemy wants us to see it, right? No, what it MEANS is that we, as valuable examples to our brothers and sisters around us, those who suffer and benefit because of us, should get our friggin’ acts together and stop taking our whole idiot lives to make the one decision that means anything in this world.

    Go ahead, take some time. But don’t take your whole bloody lives, because there are people around you who depend on you. If you haven’t figured out whether you will love the ONE who made you and sustains you through each breath and holds you in his arms each moment, perhaps by the time you start having children or shortly thereafter, then you are taking too much time. Don’t feel guilty about this. We’re all humans, and we hesitate; it’s who we are. Besides, the false promise of that other voice in our heads is a fearsome temption. But please DO let the suffering and agitation of your children be a kick in the butt for you to start taking your decision seriously. When they see that you not only can believe, but that you will believe in the only thing that matters, there is very little that can dissuade them from it. Love is a powerful thing between us, but our love is only a reflection of the One Love that makes us eternal and real, and made us in the beginning from nothing and with purpose. I plead with you to not take too much time. I beg you. Tempus fugit.

  2. In my experience it isn’t unusual at all for a person to hold one sort of religious view in their childhood, go through a period of distancing themselves from religion in their young adulthood, then reaffirm a more mature commitment to faith in middle age. She’s 44 now and fits the pattern, as does practically everyone I know. There are very few people who keep the exact same religious affiliation from cradle to grave.

    • Well, except the ones who get beheaded if they don’t. 😉 Good point, Mikey. I fit your pattern as well, having abruptly given up my faith at around 17, come back in a different denomination later, and finally, in the late 30s, reading enough history to change again before getting settled.

      I don’t criticize her for her path. It’s a good path.

    • Aussie says:

      Yes, it is quite normal to go through a period of questioning one’s faith and committment. Coming out the other end full of faith has its own rewards and joy.

  3. Coyote says:

    You can’t be where I am, you could not have gone where I’ve gone, run where I’ve run, hunkered down where I’ve hunkered down, seen what I’ve seen AND NOT believe in God.

    I am a witness.
    I am a Patriot.
    I believe in God.

    God Bless the United States of America.

Leave a Reply

