Open Thread, Thursday 14 November 2013 – Happy Birthday, Knight!!

article-2505105-19617DA800000578-449_964x584
Photo by Terry Roberts, provided by Shalini, whose 30th birthday is in 2 days!  Knight is also turning 30.  Have a great day working on the boat, or whatever project you guys have going on in the beautiful Hawaiian sunshine (or showers) today, Knight!

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Open Thread, Thursday 14 November 2013 – Happy Birthday, Knight!!

  1. texan59 says:

    Bud Light commercial. I don’t think this one will be on the Super Bowl. WARNING!!! Risqué humor. 😆

  2. texan59 says:

    After perusing comments from last evening, I guess that a couple Happy Birthday wishes are in order. I just had Mrs. T whip something up. Hope y’all enjoy. 🙂

  3. Antarctic Sea Ice at 35-year record levels. Maybe it’s Obama causing the seas to subside and the temp to cool? Is that the only “promise” he kept? 🙄
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/capital-weather-gang/wp/2013/09/23/antarctic-sea-ice-hit-35-year-record-high-saturday/

  4. Well, I do call him “Dick.” Hat tip: iotw.

  5. “If America goes down, we’re all done… right now, the power-hungry freaks are in charge of your country… The western world is as stake… I’d wager that there are 100 members of your House of Representatives who could not get security clearances to clean toilets at any of your military bases.”
    Trevor Loudon’s interview with Ginni Thomas. Awesome.
    http://www.trevorloudon.com/2013/11/trevor-loudon-interviewed-by-ginni-thomas-of-the-daily-caller/

    • barnslayer says:

      $199 for beer? With the gold bottle and all they might as well sell it at the perfume counter of Neiman Marcus. No Thanks!!!
      I’m not a big suds fan anyway but this stuff on tap at McSorley’s was pretty good…

      • Wow! Is that really one of your pics from McSorley’s? I would love to have a pint there some day. I’ve heard the ale is pretty amazing.

        • barnslayer says:

          No, I found it online (but it was taken there). I haven’t been there since 1979. Back then there was sawdust on the floor, a dusty row of wishbones over the bar, no women’s bathroom and when you ordered a draft beer they brought you two (just to save themselves the legwork). I hope they haven’t changed too much. Let me know if you’re ever in the neighborhood.

  6. Pistol Pete says:

    Obama retreats on Obamacare, allows existing low-cost policies to continue
    Basically he’s trying to stall until after next years election by putting the onus back on insurance companies after they’ve already dropped plans,laid people off and sent out cancellation notices.This makes health insurance providers the scapegoat while Barry extra-legally changes “settled law” to suit his political needs at the moment.

    http://dailycaller.com/2013/11/14/obama-retreats-on-obamacare-allows-existing-low-cost-policies-to-continue/#ixzz2keessqS9

  7. What A Hoot says:

    I find it so encouraging to have the thirty-crowd ( Zoph, Shalini and Knight) on board here, contributing and encouraging and being a part of saving this country. I know I certainly did not have the intellectual and/or spiritual depth at thirty that you all do! I am honored to be a the same team with them. Happy Birthday, Shalini and Knight!!

  8. What A Hoot says:

    Well, since there is talk going on in the ‘adult beverage’ department……Hoot, who is not a very frequent imbiber, tasted some Crown Royal Maple last night…….. Smooth. Thinking of replacing maple syrup with this stuff on my pancakes and waffles. . .

  9. Harvey says:

    Just for grins and giggles, this is what Senator Mark Udall had to say about Obamacare in 2010:

    Mark’s Newsletter Update:
    Improving the Health of Coloradans
    Mark’s Updates | April 2, 2010

    Dear Fellow Coloradan,

    Last week, I joined my colleagues in the House and Senate to pass landmark health insurance reform legislation. I then had the honor of attending the ceremony in which President Obama signed the bill into law….
    ….Below you’ll find more information about the impact the health reform law will have on our state. But, as with any legislation, this bill is not perfect. I’ll continue working to make sure it’s implemented smoothly and in the best interest of all Coloradans. I urge you to stay in contact, share your experiences, and let me know how I can work to improve the new law.

  10. Knight4GFC says:

    Hey ya’ll! All u 4GFC’ers here today are THE BEST!!! Thanks fer all the kind words and Birthday wishes! In return I ask that God blesses you all! I will poke in here a little later… still working here! You Guys and Gals are so kind! The best! The greatest! Thanks fer making this, 4GFC, happen! God bless! 😀

  11. solaratov says:

    I guess I’m late to the party…again. 😉

    Happy thirtieth birthday, Knight!
    (As I recall, thirty was a pretty good age to be…but it’s all sort of vague. Might have been some other age…but what the hey!) 😆

    And our Shalini is going to be 30, too! Happy Birthday, Shalini!
    (They grow up so fast, don’t they?) 😀

    I’ve enjoyed the time that we’ve spent here – and I’m looking forward to a lot more.

    • Knight4GFC says:

      I too am hoping for a lot more time spent here alongside with the likes of you Sol! I thank you for your Veteran insight and extensive knowledge that you have shared with us! I am glad to be here to hear yas! Thank you for the birthday wishes Sol! God bless you! 🙂

  12. Knight4GFC says:

    Hey Grunt! I hope it’s not too late to join yas! 🙂

    • That’s exactly the bottle that’s on our table right now, buddy. And I still have some in my glass in your honor. Hmmm. Bottle is still 3/4 full. I have to work tomorrow… oh, what the heck. One more glass. Slainte, good Knight! 🙂

      • What? 3/4the full? Now that’s optimistic of you. If you hear a knock at your door I will be wet from a long swim and in need of refreshing. 🙂 🙂 🙂

        • Ahhhhhh! You guys are killing me. All these cakes and now Bushmills! I have been on a 100% juice cleansing diet for 7 days. And 4 days before that it was no dairy and no meat and just broth. Now I got 4 days more of reestablishing broth and veggies before I reintroduce REAL BACON again. Man bring on that Thanksgiving meal. And Bushmillls! 🙂

          • GruntOfMonteCristo says:

            What?? 😯 I don’t know how you do that. I can go without meat for a while, but no dairy? That would kill me. What do you drink with your coffee? I will pray that you make it to Thanksgiving, but I’m not optimistic. I predict total starvation by the 15th. Kidding! 🙂

        • GruntOfMonteCristo says:

          You are most welcome… Wait. Now it’s only about 1/2 full. You better swim fast! 🙂

      • Knight4GFC says:

        Thanks Brother Grunt! 🙂

  13. Knight4GFC says:

    You mentioned in the post today, Grunt, about the Hawaiian sunshine or showers. Today we had some unsettled weather but, after I hit the sack last night (or should I say early this morning), we had heavy rains with lightning and thunder roll right in! Our Hawaiian peaks are just about ready for some snow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

