Have a Very Merry Gingerbread House This Season

usps-holiday-mailer-e1385051544305
The Blaze did a piece on this last week, and Twitter folks have been making fun of it, but I just got mine in the mail yesterday, and I have to say it was still a little shocking to me. Sure, the USPS offers actual religious Christmas stamps, just like it offers Ramadan-themed stamps this time of year. That’s fine.

But this is, specifically, a USPS “Holiday Stamp” mailing for the purpose of alerting people to the fact that the Christmas stamps are in. There’s no shame in admitting that. In the USA, this is a season dominated by Christmas. It’s not even really a time “shared” by different religious faiths, since, for example, the Jewish Feast of Lights is only one of many Holy Days throughout the year. To imply that it’s the greatest feast, and cast it as an alternative to Christmas is actually insulting to some Jews. Do we get a Purim mailing from the USPS? ย Maybe we should? ย Likewise and similarly with Ramadan. Kwanzaa is a whole different animal, having been made up by a criminal as a fake alternative to Christmas, thereby insulting all devout black Christian Americans. But whatever. Include whatever you like, and don’t leave out the Pagan Winter Solstice and the Wiccan stuff and ย the Nazi Fatherland celebration and especially the “Most holy church of Barack the savior” (they have the cutest children’s choirs).

No, this USPS mailer is purposely and necessarily all about Christmas. So the irony is all the thicker that the Name, the One Name, in particular, cannot be mentioned on it.

But it’s even worse than that! There are no overt Christian symbols whatsoever! Not even a stylized cross image. Nothing. But a gingerbread house. Right alongside other overt religious symbols that are somehow ok. Yeah, that’s not stupid at all.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in General Religiousness, God. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Have a Very Merry Gingerbread House This Season

  1. zmalfoy says:

    Actually, I’d prefer if they replaced the Kwanzaa log with a proper Yule log. At least the Pagan Solstice celebrations are legit. (And generally stocked with good booze). Kwanzaa is a fake-ass holiday. (Heck, I’d even buy Pentagram stamps, if they had them, because that symbol for both Christians and Pagans is a “Protection against Evil” sign. . .)

    Buuuut. . . that my be my questionable associates and past coming to the fore, lol ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Right! But I don’t think they have any solstice stamps, even though that would be legit. (Right time and all.) ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yup our FREEDOM is missing and stuck in the closet now that all the other stuff is out of it. It’s all one big latrine. If it looks like, feels like, smells like and taste like crap, it certainly aint sugar! But we “not allowed” to call it anything close to what it is. It might offend someone. “Some people think it’s funny, but it’s really black and runny” Pass the barf bag now!

  2. Thanks Grunt and Z for bringing this to our attention and also ruining my second good cup of coffee. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. zmalfoy says:

    To be entirely fair, this is what I got in the mail today:

    • Well, that’s a lot better. We didn’t get those, for some reason.

    • You know I lkke it better the other way! To even put our Christmas together with any other …..whatever fill in the blank yourself….. just makes me sick! Physically ill! Just can’t get used to it and I guess I don’t want too either!

      • zmalfoy says:

        Not me. Jesus an’ His Momma ain’t threatened by any no account Ramadan or Kwanzaa stamps. And Hanukkah is cool, right? Festival of Lights is totally Legit. I’m sure our Lord played Dreidel (or His era equivalent) when He was a tyke. . .

        • Right. ๐Ÿ™‚ We should be able to share. But I think I understand GFC’s nausea at the implied “one is as good as any other” notion or especially the obnoxious PC convention of never allowing a particular one (Christmas) to be mentioned without enforcing that all the others are mentioned as well. If we are all free and respect each other, we should support each other in our celebrations – not interfering or criticizing but returning a happy greeting when we are wished a good Feast of Booths. Would we feel obligated in bringing up Christmas at such a time in a twisted sense of “fairness?” Never. Then why this nonsense?

          • zmalfoy says:

            Point conceded– partly, lol ๐Ÿ˜›
            Why this nonsense? Because the Postal service is a quasi-governmental-ish agency and, as such, cannot “Endorse” any one religion over another. Or so goes the popular interpretation. I can’t say I entirely agree with that interpretation. But it’s very common. I would much rather this, than eliminating all mention or sign of all holy-days.

            Yes, in personal practice, I completely agree. I wish my Jewish friends Happy Hanukkah, my pagan friends a Blessed Yule or Solstice. If I don’t know, I default to Christmas as I would with all my Christian (and atheist, lulz) friends. I’m not offended when wished a Happy Hannukah back, or whatever. I’ll take all the blessings and good wishes I can get. But a public agency operates under somewhat different rules. With the ACLU chomping at the anti-theist bit to eliminate everything, I much prefer it this way.

            • zmalfoy says:

              Also, for the record, the one thing that really peeves me and turns me into a Christmas-Bitch:
              Atheists celebrating Christmas.
              Oh, this drives me insane. You don’t get Christmas if you don’t believe in Jesus! Go get yer Festivus Pole and air some Gorram Grievances, leave our trees and presents alone! No pretty lights, no wreathes, put down the cookies, hands off the ‘nog! No! Christmas is a Christian Thing! You want Christmas, give some thought to the possibility of a God that, for some unknown reason, Loves ya, then we’ll talk about Christmas. . .!!!!eleventy!!!1!!!

              /rant

              • Oh, I’m with you there.

                And I concede what you’re saying about government and the USPS. But if they’re going to DO it, they need not make it an act of obvious suppression, EVEN if it’s a suppression of the majority, as it was in the mailer that I got. The one you got was actually not bad, really. But it still seems nonsensical, to me, for them to pick December as the time to put out a whole spectrum of faith-based stamps, when that is really not the proper time in all faiths. Muslims, Jews and others might have other times of year when they’d want to be honored. In December, maybe the Solstice folks would want equal billing. I could see that. But then I want to see Purim stamps in March and Wiccan stamps at Halloween, dammit. But let us have our friggin’ Christmas stamps in December without being forced to share with folks who don’t want to be there, you know?

  4. Let me ask you both a question. What the hell happen from 1950’s to now that allowed the destruction of our Country? I know many reasons just want to hear what you think was the very basic reasons???

    • Perhaps we could have a whole page dedicated to this question as it would be interesting to hear different perspectives

    • I can’t answer that. When I was a child, all I knew was the destruction-in-full-swing. I never knew a perfect America, and I don’t know that such a place ever existed in the 1950s or before. But it seems that we have known greatness. I suspect our greatest hours were over a century ago. All I know is that we have been embracing decline since the day I was born, and very few days have passed in which I have not been completely sure of it. As for why? The Devil’s hand is clear in all of it, and our greed and pride and arrogance have surely played into his intents and purposes. But why do we do it? The same reason the Romans did before us. We’re no different. There are plenty of good people here now, but they will suffer along with the bad ones. That’s the way it’s always been.

    • zmalfoy says:

      You trace it to the 50’s? Mm. I go back to the Wilson Admin, then FDR. That’s when the social groundwork was laid. The Great Society, the New Deal. All that. Then, while the Greatest Generation was off freeing the camps, they snuck all sorts of things in that seeded the cultural upheavals of the 60’s. While a lot of the Women’s Lib stuff was overall good, there was a lot of poison in there too. Not to mention the damage Kinsey did. But once women were “Liberated” from their families, they destroyed the Family as best they could. The rest follows. The Greatest Generation was followed by The Greediest Generation. While I love and respect individual “Baby Boomers”, as a Gen X/ Millennial cusper, thinking overlong on Baby Boomers fills me with disgust and anger.

      Now, the metaphysical roots? Mmm. . . I consider the story of Pope Leo the (something-th), and the Prayer of St. Michael the Archangel. That, and I need to make the connection between the Wilson Administration, Influential Marxists thinkers of the time, and the O.T.O. . . . Intuitively, I could swear there is such a connection. I just haven’t had the time to really buckle down and find it.

  5. Knight4GFC says:

    You guys are killing me! You guys just had to pick this “time” to have a good conversation. I’m reading it all, but right now am having glitches in my head due to a fever. So I must resist the temptation. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am pretty tired. I will say this: Christmas is OURS! For Christians only! Like Z said above; “You donโ€™t get Christmas if you donโ€™t believe in Jesus!” MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Shalini says:

      Me too, Knight! I so want to say what I think on the matter (Even though, I am not American :D) but I am so exhausted that I don’t think I can. Besides there are emails to be replied to, and I probably need do that first.

      All I can say is this: The decline of any once great nation or organization, comes down to turning away from God. Depletion of morals, as Tessa says, comes from turning away from God as there are no morals outside of God. When nations forget who made them great to begin with, they are bound to fall. Satan is constantly prowling to devour what God has held dear to Him and we are only to willing to oblige him, unfortunately.

  6. tessa50 says:

    I attribute the decline to lack of morals. Not many seem to get what they are anymore, or even why they would want to live in that way. I have made a lot of mistakes in my life, but I always knew even when I wasn’t daily talking with him that God was there. Watching me and wanting me closer to Him and His ways. Too many now just take what they can get from whoever they can and think this is normal, nothing wrong with it.

    I also see the flip side. Young folks working and getting nowhere fast and now they have ACA to boot. They wonder why are we working so hard? They look around and see others their age getting money left and right for not working. It is very troubling to me. How can our youth be expected to see that daily and not think to themselves, am I stupid for working?

    Sorry, I kinda butted into this conversation, hope that’s okay.

    • Oh, of course it’s ok. Good thoughts, Tessa. ๐Ÿ™‚

      What part of the country did you grow up, if I may ask?

    • Here you are welcome to butt in anytime. We insist. ๐Ÿ™‚ It makes all of us the wiser to be able to share our views openly and taking slack when we need to also. I am happy about your comment and you are certainly right about the morals dept.. But why did the morals decline like this in the first place?

      • tessa50 says:

        I have three thoughts on that, for what they are worth.
        1. Handouts to too many people that didn’t need or deserve them. Not much incentive to work hard and prosper on your own with that.
        2. People becoming so used to the so called American dream, that we all could have it when in fact it takes hard work not just living in America. In other words, they got to thinking that money and nice homes and cars and whatever were the most important things.
        3. I also wonder about our and by that I mean Americans, coming to believe that we were so superior to everyone else. I wonder how that fits into God’s words to us for the end times. I am not in anyway putting down my country, just some of it’s leaders and their policies. We seem to want to tell the whole world how to act even as we turn further and further from God.

        Having said all that please keep in mind I am nothing but a HS grad no degree of any sort, so not the sharpest blade, not that I am putting myself down. Just some random thoughts on my part about the moral decline.

  7. tessa50 says:

    Of course you may ask. I grew up in FL and have lived there since about the age of 2.

    • Not a bad place to be from. Most of my time there was spent in the vicinity of Cape Canaveral and Cocoa Beach. Kinda miss it. The family spent a little time in New Smyrna Beach once. Did a lot of swimming there until we figured out that it was the Great White shark attack capital of the Atlantic coast. No wonder we kept getting bumped while out in the deep water.

      • tessa50 says:

        New Smyrna beach was where I went mostly when I was a teen. Loved the whole thing of had a car and could drive to beach and onto beach and just enjoy. We never thought of the sharks, but we were young. Cocoa was nice also just in a different way.

        • Oh, I love NSB! Awesome beach town. I don’t think you can drive your car on the beach there anymore, but you can all up and down Volusia County around Daytona. That is really cool, I admit. Definitely makes you feel like the old days. Did you grow up near there? Like in north-central FL? I like it, but then I’m kind of a redneck and I’ve never even been to south Florida, so I don’t know what I’m missing down there.

      • barnslayer says:

        Cocoa Beach? Grunt, were you on “I Dream of Jeannie”?

        • ๐Ÿ˜€ With all the Air Force folks there, it definitely has a little “I Dream of Jeannie” vibe going on. Especially at the tiki bar up by Port Canaveral. Feels like 1969 to me sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • You know who’s living the “Jeannie” life now? Last I heard from her, AliRose from the old HoneyTrail blog (later MafiaRose from PN) was living down there somewhere. I think her husband got transfered to Patrick AFB, which is the coolest AFB ever just south of Cocoa. The base is right across the 2-lane from the longest, smoothest stretch of white sand ever. What a life. Surfing’s really good there if the weather’s right, and it’s perpetually 1960 there all the time. I’m jealous! Ali is the one who caused the Treehouse to be born, really. If SD and crew hadn’t thought she was a dangerous spy and publicly purged her, Motley wouldn’t have pulled the plug on the HT and the Treehouse might never have been born. Wonder how she’s doing down there?

Leave a Reply

