Open Thread, Monday 23 December 2013

RockyMountainChristmas
Art by Dominic Davidson.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Open Thread, Monday 23 December 2013

    • It’s not often a technical/designer guy gets his kind of notoriety.

      Although his brand of vodka never really took off overseas…

      • barnslayer says:

        I’d like to get one of those rifles one day. Probably have to wait until we move. In the mean time Santa dropped one of these (not my picture) off a little early. It takes the same ammo.

        • Well, congrats on the early gift, Barn! I’m jealous. Can you divulge the country of origin? I’m guessing U.S. .308 or sumlin like dat?

          • barnslayer says:

            Remember the info Sol gave me? This is a Ruskie Sks ~1956 I’m guessing. Lots of markings but no date. It takes 7.62×39 same as the AK-47. There’s lots of them out there. Most that I saw for auction were Russian, Yugoslavian, or Chinese. It holds 10 rounds in an internal fixed mag. Some guys convert them to accept AK mags but I’m in NY so it stays as is. The commie ammo is much cheaper ($0.23 per round) depending on what you buy. That ammo isn’t as nice as the stuff you would put in an AR but these rifles were designed to be a cheap date.

            • That’s pretty cool. I’ve heard of guys shooting SKSs around here, but I’ve never seen one up close… unless the Chinese AK my BIL brought back from Vietnam is really an SKS. I need to look at it more closely. Good deal!

            • solaratov says:

              When you get ammo for it, don’t spend extra for the hollow point. Just get the 124 grain full metal jacket (FMJ). It works *much* better than the HP – wound channel wise. (if you catch my drift) I don’t know why that is; and no one I’ve asked about it has been able to give me a good answer – but it’s so.

              • barnslayer says:

                Thanks Sol! I’ve been reading the threads on this. It seems the “good” hollow points used the 8M3 bullet. It had release cuts to assist the deformation/expansion. Now all the HP seems to be FMJ’s with the tip chopped off but no release cuts. FMJ it is. I’ve also heard the poly coated shells can be problematic (rust).

    • Some blogger named “OpenTheDoor” had this pithy comment on Mikhail:
      “Guy who invented the most widely used modern military weapon, a weapon used to oppress millions, dies essentially penniless.
      Ain’t communism grand?”

  1. Ramirez is starting to run out of room for these “lie compendiums.” 😆

  2. solaratov says:

    Go ahead. Make my day…treehugger…

    http://www.flowershell.com/

    👿

    • Sheriff’s Deputy: “How do you know he was the one who broke into your place?”
      Sol: “Because he’s got sunflowers growing out of his backside. That’s the load I was shooting with that day.”
      Deputy: “Good enough for me. Book ’em Danno.”

      Hey Sol, I somehow lost your mailing address. Can you shoot that back to me on the email side, por favor? Thanks!

    • barnslayer says:

      That’s pretty funny!

  3. This has been making the rounds. Good modern twist on this Christmas carol.

  4. The most unpleasant, vile, bigoted and ignorant liberal news anchor ever in – you guessed it – Madison Wisconsin. Says she knows Phil Robertson is a bigot just by looking at him. Seems completely unaware that she just DEFINED bigotry with that statement.
    http://www.libertynews.com/2013/12/unbelievable-wisconsin-news-anchor-passes-live-judgement-of-phil-robertson-based-on-looks/

  5. What A Hoot says:

    A little story I came across. Do not have an author to credit.
    “A Mom visits her son for dinner who lives with a girl roommate.
    During the course of the meal, his mother couldn’t help but notice how pretty his roommate was.She had long been suspicious of a
    relationship between the two, and this had only made her more curious….

    Over the course of the evening, while watching the two interact, she started to wonder if there was more between him and
    his roommate than met the eye.
    Reading his mom’s thoughts, his son volunteered,
    “I know what you must be thinking, but I assure you,we are just
    roommates.”

    About a week later, his roommate came to him saying,
    “Ever since your mother came to dinner, I’ve been unable to find the silver plate. You don’t suppose she took it, do you?”

    He said ,”Well, I doubt it, but I’ll email her, just
    to be sure.” He sat down and wrote :

    Dear Mother:
    I’m not saying that you ‘did’ take the silver plate from my house, I’m not saying that you ‘did not’ take the silver plate But the fact
    remains that it has been missing ever since you were here for dinner.

    Love,
    your son.

    Several days later, he received an email from
    his Mother which read:

    Dear Son:
    I’m not saying that you ‘do’ sleep with your roommate, and
    I’m not saying that you ‘do not’ sleep with her.
    But the fact remains that if she was sleeping in her OWN bed, she
    would have found the silver plate by now, under her pillow…
    Love,
    Mom.”

Leave a Reply

