Open Thread, Monday 10 February 2014

Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Open Thread, Monday 10 February 2014

  1. zmalfoy says:

    Hey guys– we had two open threads posted for this morning, so the one that posted 2nd (Grunt’s) I have rescheduled for tomorrow morning. I hope no on minds too terribly!

  2. solaratov says:

    Surprise! Surprise! Surprise!

    It sure looks – if this is true – as though Mr. Snowden has “somebody” by the short and curlies…and isn’t letting go any time soon. He may have thrown a huge monkey wrench into the leftists’ plans for America…and given us patriots some additional breathing room. Let’s hope it’s true.

    http://westernrifleshooters.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/as-sent-by-a-reader/

    III

    • zmalfoy says:

      I saw this a couple of days ago and, to be honest, I’m a bit wibbly-wobbly on it.

      On the one hand: If true, I appreciate Snowden’s “pair”, and forethought in setting up an intelligence “Dead man switch”. I’d frequently wondered if he’d thought to do such a thing. I generally think that he should be classed as a “whistleblower” and “hero”– though I admit to a bit of concern over where he found refuge. I can certianly see two sides to why he ended up in Russia. That said, I appreciate what has been done to expose the massive overreach of our gov’t.

      On the other hand: As this is quite personal to myself and my family, I see all the ways this can go wrong. The comments on WRSA said that this information belonged to the “rich”, the “top 10%”–I disagree. If you’re talking every government employee, every employee of a bank or “corporation”. . . you’re talking about hundreds of thousands of mid-level and low-level shulbs like my father and myself. Likewise, everyone that has a lisence issued by the gov’t– every doctor, every lawyer. .. ever gun-owner and hunter as well? Moreover, some of the “catalysts” listed are not, to my mind, entirely appropriate. If hyper-inflation hits, the fault is not so much the “corporations” as the “federal reserve”–the corporations would be reacting to the mind-numbingly stupid monetary policy of the past decade-plus. It’ll suck, but it’s natural law. . .

      [Mind you, I’m saying this as someone who supports the May 16th And After plans, and I don’t much appreciate the attitude of some of the commentors over there who seem to think that us “supporting gov’t people” are all talk, and otherwise sitting on our asses waiting for our pensions. Of course I’m not gonna blab about my plans online. I know a fair number of gov’t people who do what we can, in work and out of work, to try to make things function as closely as they should to “proper”, who aren’t just working for a pension, who do go out there, leaving behind cell phones and gps, to contact and coordinate and plan. My group knows who my employer is, but they sure as hell ain’t spreading that around. Tch!

      Sorry about the rant. /Rant]

      • Knight4GFC says:

        Good rant imho. What I still don’t believe is, how on earth did Snowden get away with ALL of this, by himself? AND, “under the radar”? I really doubt he did… perhaps this is just one BIG distraction. Be aware of what the “other” hand is doing.

        • zmalfoy says:

          hmm . ..

          . . .

          So. . . what if Snowden is that “False Flag” the internets have been warning of? He “steals” all this info then, per the (faked) recent NBC report about hacking troubles in Russia, looses control of the info. (like with all those retailers recently). This sudden flood of the personal identifying info of pretty much every American citizen in the heart of Russia (or China) is the “catalyst” for gov’t reaction. . . also destablizing what is left of the economy, causing further reaction on that front. . . ripples and ripples and ripples. . .

          AND, in the meantime, this is then discredits the Liberty movement, due to many of our’s support of him? In Snowden’s name, those who praised him are villified by the masses who have been robbed of everything. . .

          Eh, maybe.

          I once crafted a conspiracy theory off of the design on Oreo cookies (fer real, I did), so maybe I’m getting too Author-creative here. . .

          • Knight4GFC says:

            I know that I do not have all the answers but, I, as of right now, DO NOT SUPPORT SNOWDEN. Too many variables about what we know of him. I don’t know him or his intentions. I’m just keeping an eye open to all possibilities… after all, if F&F, Benghazi, Hillary’s “head injury” in Iran, Seal Team Six Deaths, etc… and now Snowden can happen, then ANYTHING is possible. Which makes it all that much more confusing.

          • Knight4GFC says:

            I am not a maker of conspiracies… just a viewer of conspiracies made by our own “big bully”.

        • Knight4GFC says:

          It’s so easy, even a caveman could do it. Hmm…

          “The findings are striking because the N.S.A.’s mission includes protecting the nation’s most sensitive military and intelligence computer systems from cyberattacks, especially the sophisticated attacks that emanate from Russia and China. Mr. Snowden’s ‘insider attack,’ by contrast, was hardly sophisticated and should have been easily detected, investigators found.”

          Snowden Used Low-Cost Tool to Best N.S.A.
          http://redalertpolitics.com/2014/02/09/snowden-used-low-cost-tool-to-best-n-s-a/

    • Knight4GFC says:

      If it’s true, maybe you’re right… IF this is true. And, if this is true, all the more is he a traitor. Why put all that sensitive info into foreign hands? Or does this matter at all to us? After all, there are “others” in this world that want us harmed too… not just “big bully”. Or, Is there really something, so detrimental, about to happen to the American citizens at the hands of their lovely “big bully”, that caused Snowden to take it to the extreme… in defense of us “unknowing” citizens?

      Idk, but this article seems a little too, how should I say this… organized, straight, planned? The tin foil is ever within my reach.

      • zmalfoy says:

        It does seem a bit over the top, doesn’t it?

        And I agree, it’s very easy for people to get so focused on the tyrranical inclinations of our own government, and forget that there are, in fact, bad people out there, and governments that consider us their enemy, and would and will do anything to tear us apart. . .

        Again, why I’m wibbly wobbly. We def. need something to bring this govn’t into line. And sometimes, the “established ways” for doing things just won’t work, because htey’ve been corrupted. On the other hand, there are real enemies out there, the Russian gov’t prime among them. . .

  3. Knight4GFC says:

    “While the Iranian warships are certainly no match for our navy, it is important to understand that we are seeing a geopolitical game of 3-D chess play out before us. Like chess, moves are calculated far in advance and often, moves are made for purposes other than direct confrontation. Sometimes, moves are made to spread out the other player’s pieces. Make no mistake, the Iranian ships are pieces on this board and under Putin’s control.”

    Make no mistake, the Iranian ships are pieces on this board and under Putin’s control
    Look behind the Iran warships headed to U.S. borders
    http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/61049

  4. Knight4GFC says:

    “President Obama is creating these accounts with the greatest of ease, without even a new law from Congress, by doing what he has done better than any president in American history. Drive the U.S. government into debt.’

    MyRAs – Washington’s Latest Scam
    http://www.rightwingnews.com/column-2/myras-washingtons-latest-scam/

  5. Knight4GFC says:

    “Just as in the civil rights struggles of the 1960s, the stakes in the current generation over same-sex marriage rights ‘could not be higher,’ said Holder.”

    Holder applies same-sex marriage ruling to Justice
    http://redalertpolitics.com/2014/02/09/holder-applies-same-sex-marriage-ruling-to-justice/

  6. Knight4GFC says:

    “The Affordable Care Act expressly prohibits inmates serving full-time sentences from enrolling in President Barack Obama’s signature healthcare law, but a loophole excludes those awaiting trial. And for counties in six states — Maryland, Illinois, California, Ohio, Connecticut and Oregon — looking to cut down costs, prison officials are enrolling these inmates in Obamacare, shifting the costs from their county budgets to the taxpayers, The Daily Mail reported.”

    Prisons enroll inmates in Obamacare to save money
    http://redalertpolitics.com/2014/02/07/prisons-enroll-inmates-in-obamacare-to-save-money/

  7. Knight4GFC says:

    The latest economic report from the Congressional Budget Office, released Tuesday, says the health care law will cause Americans to work fewer hours — enough to be the equivalent of 2 million fewer jobs in 2017. The latest number is nearly three times as high as the budget office’s previous prediction.

    This was then followed by a nervous rush by the Left to justify the need for “less work”, For “hanging about,” for “discovering our passions,” for smoking a big fat (now legal) joint, and for relying on the sweat of YOUR NEIGHBOR’S BROW and not your own to finance these “internal endeavors.”

    So this brings me to a biblical verse on that subject -2 Thessalonians 3:10 “For even when we were with you, we would give you this command: If anyone is not willing to work, let him not eat.”

    Read more at http://allenbwest.com/2014/02/new-cultural-meme-america-ready/#UAugIc815Qa0hibe.99

  8. Knight4GFC says:

    According to a report in The Guardian, a new Afghan law will allow men to attack their wives, children and sisters without fear of judicial punishment, undoing years of slow progress in tackling violence in a country blighted by so-called “honor” killings, forced marriage and vicious domestic abuse.
    Read more at http://allenbwest.com/2014/02/obamas-outrage-afghan-war-women/#7IFHdrkfxFQFheHP.99

  9. Knight4GFC says:

    Lawmakers Threaten NFL Over Redskins

    A bipartisan pair of lawmakers has written a public letter to NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell demanding that the league he oversees denounce the nickname of the Washington Redskins.
    http://www.breitbart.com/Breitbart-Sports/2014/02/09/Legislators-Threaten-NFL-Over-Redskins

  10. Knight4GFC says:

    “I [was] traveling with a wheelchair,” Chesler related. “I knew we would have a long wait at the airport, so I took my reading, and that included the Jewish Press, and I write for the Jewish Press as well. … The first security guard looked at the title, the headline, turned it over, opened it, pulled over with a smile and a smirk – I was told [by my wheelchair attendant] – a second security guard.

    “Meanwhile, I notice a woman in niqab [a dark cloth, often used by Muslim women, which hides all the wearer’s face but the eyes] just sail on through without being asked to show her face to indentify herself vis-à-vis her documents,” Chesler continued.

    Chesler told Klein the search itself was “a minor blip,” something that could happen to anyone, but argued the TSA is going so far to avoid appearing biased against Arab and Muslim passengers that it’s creating a reverse discrimination that threatens true airport security.

    Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2014/02/woman-detained-by-tsa-goes-public/#f6ZEjhFjgGShjuTr.99

  11. Knight4GFC says:

    The student reported Bazian established as part of the course requirements that students would have to open a Twitter account and tweet at least once a week about “Islamophobia.” The student commented: “I can’t help but feel this is unethical. This is his agenda, not mine.”
    Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2014/02/u-s-muslim-prof-teaches-islamophobia-course/#kRdBqo6xeF9EIjbp.99

  12. Knight4GFC says:

    During a radio interview Sunday, former U.N. Ambassador John Bolton said he wouldn’t be surprised if President Obama visited Iran on a peace mission.

    “I’ve heard rumors to that effect. And it wouldn’t surprise me,” Bolton said on Aaron Klein’s WABC Radio show tonight.

    Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2014/02/not-surprising-if-obama-visits-iran/#jh3BZiSCozi4zjmu.99

  13. texan59 says:

    This should make you feel better. Pilots often head for the wrong airport. 🙄

    http://news.yahoo.com/pilots-often-head-wrong-airports-reports-show-092049243.html

    • I’m not really that surprised that this happens a lot. In some of the big urban areas, there are runways friggin’ everywhere. I don’t know how the pilots keep them straight sometimes. The San Jose / Moffet thing is pretty understandable but fairly harmless. I’ve flown into San Jose a bazillion times and always wondered how the pilots can ignore the lights of Moffet Field, which are the first thing you see as you’re coming in low over the South Bay. But, I’d really hate to be trying to land at one of the airports on the East Coast from Long Island down to BWI & Washington. What a mess.

  14. Knight4GFC says:

    Savage said they’re “questions Bill O’Reilly didn’t ask” in his interview with the president before the Super Bowl on the Fox television network.
    Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2014/02/michael-savages-questions-for-obama/#CPMc8Ww56QjGpuqT.99

  15. Knight4GFC says:

    If the news is boring this morning, then perhaps this could make it a little more interesting? 😉

    http://patdollard.com/2014/02/report-jay-z-divorcing-beyonce-over-affair-with-obama/

  16. Knight4GFC says:

    David Petraeus Endorses Hillary Clinton As President, Says Benghazi Showcased Her ‘Most Impressive Qualities’
    http://patdollard.com/2014/02/petraeus-clinton-would-make-a-tremendous-president-because-ofbenghazi/

  17. Knight4GFC says:

    The Hillary Papers
    Archive of ‘closest friend’ paints portrait of ruthless First Lady
    http://freebeacon.com/the-hillary-papers/

  18. Knight4GFC says:

    Hey Texan, do you see Texas going blue?

    Rand Paul: Texas will turn Democratic in 10 years if Republicans don’t change
    http://washingtonexaminer.com/rand-paul-texas-will-turn-democratic-in-10-years-if-republicans-dont-change/article/2543726?utm_campaign=Fox News&utm_source=foxnews.com&utm_medium=feed

  19. Knight4GFC says:

    “Cops storm a house wearing masks covering their faces, dressed in military special forces-style black uniforms and battle helmets. They bust down the door using a battering ram, then rush the occupants, seizing and breaking one camera and preventing another from recording the remarkable scene.
    What was the heinous and violent crime of which the intended target of the raid was charged? Murder? Rape?
    Credit card fraud.”

    Saturday, 08 February 2014 11:30
    Militarized Police: The Standing Army the Founders Warned About
    http://www.thenewamerican.com/usnews/crime/item/17587-militarized-police-the-standing-army-the-founders-warned-about

    • Somebody please explain to me how the common occurrence of LEOs breaking cameras and confiscating video phones (so they can’t be held accountable) not a fireable offense? Any time this happens, some cop needs to go to jail.

  20. iOTW’s Job Lock video. Great compilation. This will piss you off. I just love to hear Barry talk about the merits of hard work. It’s like he doesn’t know that we have access to his schedule that shows one meeting a day at 11:45am and the remainder as golf time.

  21. I think this is great news. Chaput appointed to the Curia by the Pope.
    http://www.catholicvote.org/pope-francis-and-the-chaput-shocker/
    I love Chaput, who is a great man and a real conservative. I wonder what Ann Barnhardt has to say about this. She used to correspond with “Archbishop Chuck” as she called him, and she despises him. I could never get her to explain why. Ann, if you ever read this, enlighten us, please.

    • barnslayer says:

      Don’t think I didn’t look into that. The ergonomics look like crap. Others have also come up (too ugly to post)

      NYers have choices (besides moving… which is probably the best option but one I can’t do right now).
      – Register the rifle…. knowing full well it won’t end there.
      – Bastardize/ butcher it to make it legal. The absurd example above isn’t even really functional. One of mine is an early WW2 Russian SVT-40. Removing the offending features would destroy not only it’s esthetics but also it’s value. Looks like this:

      – Non-compliance. Don’t register …. can’t take it to the range or use it for defense lest the cat gets out of the bag. In addition, hope they don’t start making house calls to enforce the law.
      – Sell it.

      I’m torn between the last two. I’ve got non-evil semi-auto rifles of the same calibers (so I’m not actually disarming) but don’t like being told what to do with my til now legal possessions.

      • texan59 says:

        I’ll hold on to ’em for ya. 😉

        • barnslayer says:

          What a pal! If I decide to sell I will give you guys first crack.
          That SVT is the daddy to the AK47. Lots of mechanical similarities. Mine has Finnish markings on it from being captured and used against the Russians.
          It’s the same caliber as the Mosin Nagant rifle. 7.62 x 54r

  22. zmalfoy says:

    So. . . current snowfall predictions for the midatlantic from Wed through Thurs are basically “OMG, it might be RAGNAROK!” . . .well, for the area, at least. prjections right now ranging from 5 inches to 2 feet. . . who’s looking for some more snow days leading into a holiday weekend? Hell yeah! I’m behind on my writing!!!

    • barnslayer says:

      Urban blizzards are not fun. Polar vortex is in style. El Nino is out. At the same time I’m receiving spring catalogs from Cabelas, LL Bean and our supermarket has St. Patrick’s Day stuff on display.

  23. Guess who turned 50 today? Saracuda! Coincidentally, Grunt turned 51 today, and I got the new shootin’ iron to prove it. 😀 Actually, I think Sarah’s birthday is tomorrow, but Breitbart said it was today. They may be mistaken. I also read that Glenn Beck turns 50 today, Monday.

    • Knight4GFC says:

      😯 HOLY SMOKES!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY BROTHER GRUNT!!! 😀 GOD BLESS YOU 51 MORE TIMES!!!

      • Thanks, Brother! He’s already blessed me more than I deserve, but thanks anyhoo! You should see this new toy Gruntessa got me today. It’s black and beautiful and looks like it means business. Maybe if the weather’s nice this weekend, I can take it out for a spin and find out!

    • Knight4GFC says:

      I wish I knew it was yer B-Day earlier today… or remembered… I don’t recall! I’ll make it up to yas! Here you go! HAPPY BIRTHDAY BROTHER GRUNT!!! 😀

    • “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.”
      What an appropriate verse for the day.
      Happy Birthday my Dear Friend Grunt! I will be saying a very special prayer for your well being and happiness tonight with my wife. I am happy to have a friend in brotherhood such as you. I say that not lightly as it means very much to the GFC clan. God Bless You My Friend. And btw did you hear on the plan to open up a private space launching facility in Kona?

      • Well, bless you and your good wife for that, Sir! You and the clan have been the very best brothers and sisters to me, and that is more valuable than gold. You’re a good and solid friend to me, GFC, and I’m very grateful.

        No, I haven’t heard about a space port opening up near Kona. That’s news to me. Would it be Space X or someone else?

        I’m afraid I can hardly keep my eyes open, so I have to hit the sack. I saw that you and Knight have said prayers on my behalf in the Family room, but I’ll have to leave them without an immediate response. Sorry about that! I gots ta sleep! 😀 But thank you good friends. I also pray for you and all our brothers and sisters everywhere tonight. 🙂 Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

