Open Thread, Sunday 16 February 2014

AFLO1-00013019-001
Chris Christie vacations in Atlantic City. NOAA assures world that rise in sea levels is only temporary.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Open Thread, Sunday 16 February 2014

  1. Pistol Pete says:

    The picture reminds me of the times I asked my granddad to explain something inexplicable.He’d say,’for the same reason a sperm whale ,the largest mammal on earth, has a windpipe about as big around as a quarter….that’s just the way it is.

    • Now I know where you get your wealth of wisdom, Pete. You’ve got your library of Grannyisms and Granddadisms, and they pretty much cover everything.

      For the same reason (as the whale), I wonder why I grew up with huge lung capacity, derived from years of competitive swimming and high altitude work, and a big schnozz, but my nasal passages seem to only pass enough air for a kangaroo rat. What’s the deal with that, God? Makes me snore like a pack of banshees, especially when I’m stuffed up. I think that’s why my wife calls me “Bear.” If I’m ever in a war zone, I’ll be the one shot in his sleep, probably by friendly fire.

  2. Sadimir Putin not too happy about U.S. win in ice hockey.
    http://twitchy.com/2014/02/15/sadimir-putin-check-out-putins-face-at-the-usa-russia-ice-hockey-game-pic/
    It’s hard to tell with him, though.

  3. Trey Gowdy calls Nancy Pelosi “mind-numbingly stupid.”

  4. Every gang has one. From the Earl.

  5. Fake Catholic news site blaming U.S. guns for Mexican violence and claiming Obama was innocent in Fast & Furious.
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Journalism/2014/02/15/National-Catholic-Reporter-Despite-Obama-s-Efforts-Mexican-Gun-Violence-Still-Our-Fault
    Breitbart fails to note that the NCR is a liberal fake-Catholic rag. Nothing in it should be taken seriously.
    http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/bishop-finn-national-catholic-reporter-should-not-call-itself-catholic

  6. zmalfoy says:

    Just did my taxes. My refund this year is about half of what it was last year. Why? Because I got a promotion. Oh, and O’Malley. And Obama. And, I’m sure, Peter Angelos. . . grrrr

    • What A Hoot says:

      True story. I am NOT tax code illiterate. Plus I know how to read. I have on occassion had to call the IRS to question something because of the way something was written it contradicted other codes. I tend to read things as they are presented grammatically. The agents were always very knowledgeable and knew their particular category insides out and upside down. Fast forward to 2014. Total chaos.

      I called with a question and I kid you not the “expert” said, “Just a moment while I go onto the website for the answer.” She then proceeds to come back and says, “OK, now I am going to read exactly what it says on the website that you could go to yourself.” She reads what I had already read and knew it did not answer my question. Little Miss Smart Ass says, “It is right there. That should answer your question.” I was so shocked by the little reprimanding tutorial that I merely said, “Uh. Yeah. Thank you.” No, I did not get my question answered. I placed a few more calls and all the same response of going to the website and reading back to me. The new umpteen workers do not know anything and had no training. It is a jobs training program. Here is another doozy. The IRS is rejecting e-files left and right and stating, for such and such a reason, paper returns need to be submitted. Also, I doubt the government is good for the money they owe taxpayers in refunds as most of the big tax places no longer will give filers short-term loans (instant cash) if sign over return for guaranteed payment.

      • barnslayer says:

        My Dad is a tax atty. He’s said you can call the IRS and get a different answer each time. They also claim to NOT be responsible for any misinformation their agents give. My parents had their first incidence of identity theft and that was due to e-filing. Yet now a tax professional must e-file if they have 10 or more clients. That number was 100 the year before.

      • zmalfoy says:

        Well, I pretty quickly got the notice that my return had been accepted. . . prolly cuz the refund amount was so small. . .

        I wish I could give them any benefit of the doubt any more. But I can’t. I gotta assume this is on purpose. . .

  7. Knight4GFC says:

    “Although the trail of mysterious and bizarre deaths detailed below begin in late January, 2014, there are others. Not only that, there will be more, according to sources within the financial world. Based on my findings, these are not mere random, tragic cases of suicide, but of the methodical silencing of individuals who had the ability to expose financial fraud at the highest levels, and the complicity of certain governmental agencies and individuals who are engaged in the greatest theft of wealth the world has ever seen.”

    Following the Bodies: “We Are at the Precipice of Something So Big, It Will Shake the Financial World”
    http://www.shtfplan.com/headline-news/following-the-bodies-we-are-at-the-precipice-of-something-so-big-it-will-shake-the-financial-world_02152014

  8. Knight4GFC says:

    Rand Paul: GOP will not win presidency ‘again in my lifetime’ — unless… – See more at: http://www.teaparty.org/rand-paul-gop-will-win-presidency-lifetime-unless-34874/#sthash.cvx9GNAD.dpuf

    • barnslayer says:

      I agree. Or just replace the GOP altogether. TEA Party sounds right.

      • Knight4GFC says:

        TEA PARTY

        15 Non-negotiable Core Beliefs

        1. Illegal aliens are here illegally.
        2. Pro-domestic employment is indispensable.
        3. A strong military is essential.
        4. Special interests must be eliminated.
        5. Gun ownership is sacred.
        6. Government must be downsized.
        7. The national budget must be balanced.
        8. Deficit spending must end.
        9. Bailout and stimulus plans are illegal.
        10. Reducing personal income taxes is a must.
        11. Reducing business income taxes is mandatory.
        12. Political offices must be available to average citizens.
        13. Intrusive government must be stopped.
        14. English as our core language is required.
        15. Traditional family values are encouraged.
        – See more at: http://www.teaparty.org/about-us/#sthash.Uf0hhKAx.dpuf

        • Why can’t everybody agree on this no-brainer list? How is this extreme? I think this is the most common sense stuff, but there are lefties out there, and even conservatives I know, who think the Tea Party is “too extreme.” I just don’t get it.

  9. Knight4GFC says:

    A little more on the artist, Martin Hudáček and the beautiful sculpture “Memorial for Unborn Children”. Thank you Grunt for posting this the other day!

    Memorial for Unborn Children: An interview with Martin Hudáček
    http://evenifministries.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/410/

  10. Knight4GFC says:

    “I don’t want my assets to be raided after my death,” she said. “The idea that someone can come after my house after I die — I just can’t do it.”

    Little-known aspect of Medicaid now causing people to avoid coverage
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/health-science/little-known-aspect-of-medicaid-now-causing-people-to-avoid-coverage/2014/01/23/deda52e2-794e-11e3-8963-b4b654bcc9b2_story.html

    • Knight4GFC says:

      This “effect”, the wolves bring, needs more attention. Perhaps “we the people” could be re-introduced into the “wild America” where we got our start and do the same. In the meantime, we are just “wolves”… hunted and not wanted. The balance in nature remains broken.

  11. Knight4GFC says:

    Hey Grunt! Could you explain, from your scientific knowledge, the natural phenomenon, “blood moons”? I’ve heard about it before but came across this at WND: http://www.wnd.com/2014/02/blood-moons-fallout-nasa-goes-hiding/
    What do you make of NASA taking down the site?

    • Any time there’s a total lunar or solar eclipse, the moon “turns to blood” and appears red, but the term “blood moon” is not so much an astronomical term as it’s a Biblical reference to end-times prophecy. Lots of folks, like Chrissythehyphenated, are watching the lunar eclipses in 2014 and 2015 because they coincide with important Jewish feast days.
      http://polination.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/more-ponderings-on-january-february-and-march-of-2014/
      Zoph has been following that, too.

      Don’t know what to think of the NASA thing. I’ll have to read up.

      • I just checked the Goddard NASA eclipse site, and it’s still unavailable. That is pretty strange. They usually don’t just shut down NASA sites like that just because they’re “out of date.” They can update at any time. Weird.

        • Knight4GFC says:

          Hmmm… like you said, weird.

        • zmalfoy says:

          for the record: This is not the first time NASA has pulled pages and sites that suddenly got a lot of attention, for no good reason. One of the problems I’ve come across is that someone will post to one of their pages, regarding, like, Comet Elenin . . . and, on it’s own, that post will be standard conspiracy-fare. But then, for no reason, NASA takes down that page or site the very day that the conspiracy thing is posted. . .which immediately gives credit to the conspiracy, Because it looks hinky, and because NASA never has a good explanation. There was one site, gosh, I’m trying to remember which one it was. . . had solid data. . . people started directing traffic that way, it was suddenly taken down for “Maintenance”, was supposed to be up in a few weeks (weeks to fix a site? geez) so, 18 months later (the last time I checked), it still had that exact same message . . ..

          I sometimes wonder if they do this as conspiracy bait, as a distraction from other things. . . (Thanks, Obama, for teaching me distrust of scientific endeavors!)

          • I wonder if the opposite may be true. Are they so paranoid about their data being used to back up (by their def) pseudoscience, that they immediately drop the sites whenever there’s a hint of it associated with something they’re doing? On the other hand, they don’t go to that extreme with Mars rover photos that people see Martians in, so who knows?

      • Knight4GFC says:

        Interesting… I’ve heard of this as well but really never paid attention to it. Nevertheless, interesting.

      • zmalfoy says:

        They aren’t always red — it depends on how much dust, random particulate, and other pollution is in the air– the more crap in the atmosphere, the more red the moon will be.

        Basically, during Lunar eclipse, the Moon is completely covered in Earth’s shadow. However, the Earth’s atmosphere acts like a lens, curving sunlight onto the shadowed moon– but since this sunlight is going through our atmosphere– the less clear the air, the more the light is filtered into “Red”. The surface of the moon is a sort of dull-silver-gray, so it reflects that red light back through–guess what?– the cruddified air. So, if there’s a massive volcanic eruption that sends dust into the stratosphere, and that dust covers the globe (like it did in the Year Without a Summer, right?)– then not only will “earth-shine” become red upon the moon, but the returning moonlight will again be red-filtered.

        Thus, the depending on the amount of pollution in the air, the moon during full lunar eclipse will go from either almost invisible (not much of anything in terms of light getting to the moon), to pinkish, to orangeish-red, to frickin’ Blood Red– that latter after some sort of massive something that sends up clouds of dust to cover the whole atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

