Open Thread, Wednesday 26 February 2014

Bankoboev.Ru_zolotistye_patrony
An alternative art sculpture. I call it: “Ode to Piers.” If you look closely, you can see the teardrops being shed by the brass cartridges for the tragic demise of Piers Morgan at CNN.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Open Thread, Wednesday 26 February 2014

  1. texan59 says:

    That picture almost brings a tear to my good eye. :lol

    • Yes siree! Now were talking about GOLD baby! The sweet smell of powder (spent of course), the calming of my nerves, the sharpness of my focused eye, the clarity of my thoughts, the great awarness of my surrounding, the breeze om my face, the ridges running along my index finger, the southbound movement from the recipient of my gift evidenced by the empty case in my chamber and the smile upon my face! πŸ™‚

      • ZurichMike says:

        I am clueless about firearms — what kind of ammo is that in the photo?

        • Not exactly sure, myself. It’s a Russian photo, so I assume it’s AK-47 ammo of roughly .30-caliber (7.62x39mm). It’s rare for Russian ammo to have brass cases, though, instead of steel. But in this shot, they were going for the “pretty” picture, I’m sure.

          • ZurichMike says:

            Thanks! By the way, a poster on The Conservative Treehouse prayer thread asked to pray for Shalini — assuming it’s “our” Shalini? Is she OK?

            • We’ve been praying for her, and been emailing her, but we haven’t heard yet if she’s ok. Last Thursday she went in for the pre-natal surgery and was worried enough to ask for prayers before going in. Since it’s been a week, we have to assume there were complications. I just hope the baby’s ok. Thanks for asking!

              You can check her last message if you like. It’s in the “Family Room,” which is linked on our right-hand margin. It’s kinda our “Prayer Request” thread.

            • ZMike, I just looked over there and saw your prayer request about the HOA/anger issue. I don’t know if there’s a proper saint to go to for that, but Mary is usually good at bringing me back to serenity in such cases. Will pray for you, Brother.

              • ZurichMike says:

                Thank you. I am so wound up I can’t get to sleep, and I slept poorly last night, so am really not with it.

          • barnslayer says:

            Hey guys. Here’s a photo left to right: 5.45x39mm (AK-74), 5.56x45mm (AR15, Mini-14, M4 etc.) 7.62x39mm (AK-47, SKS)
            To me the photo looks like the AK-74 ammo.

            • You may be right, Barn. It’s definitely not 7.62x39mm, and the AK-74 is in wide use now in Russia. I think it’s the current official Russian battle rifle. So that would make sense. But there’s a chance it could still be 7.62x51mm (.308win). Without any scale it’s hard to tell the diff between the two (for me).

              I’m holding a nice shiny .308win (150gr) in my grubby hand right now, comparing it to the photo, and I can’t tell the difference without being able to measure somehow.

            • But for that matter they could also be .50 BMG. I just zoomed in and the headstamp might say “LC” which is consistent with these.

              • barnslayer says:

                Right again! I did an google image search and all results lead to “machine-gun wallpaper” I couldn’t find any mention of a Russian belt fed MG in 5.45×39.

              • Bet you’re right. So, did you find any Ruskie belt-fed guns in the .30 cal range? We have Browning MGs in both .50 and .30. Do they also?

              • barnslayer says:

                Two in 12.7×108 and one in 7.62×54.
                Here’s the 12.7×108

                If you were able to make out the case markings as “L” “C” that pretty much ends the mystery.

                Here’s a better pic. The one on the left is 50BMG next to it is the Russian 12×108

              • Wow, thanks. Didn’t know that.

            • Dang, Barn, you made me completely change my mind. Given the look, the stamp and the fact that they’re on belts, I think they’re .50 cal. Don’t know why I didn’t think about that before.

  2. zmalfoy says:

    Oooooh, that’s my kinda “bling”! So shiny. . ..

  3. texan59 says:

    Now we know how Michael Mann came up with all his brilliant ideas. πŸ™„

    http://www.nature.com/news/publishers-withdraw-more-than-120-gibberish-papers-1.14763

  4. Some good funnies today, all via our buddy PistolPete.



  5. Another BitterClinger find. British Intelligence about Obama.
    http://therightscoop.com/um-this-is-kinda-interesting/

  6. Harvey says:

    The GOP political situation seems to be shaking up a bit in CO:
    http://www.completecolorado.com/

  7. Coyote says:

    The Cato Institute released a study showing that welfare benefits pay more than a minimum wage job in 33 states and the District of Columbia. Even worse, welfare pays more than $15 per hour in 13 states.

    According to the study, welfare benefits have increased faster than minimum wage. It’s now more profitable to sit at home than it is to earn an honest day’s pay.

    Hawaii is the biggest offender, where welfare recipients earn $29.13 per hour, or a $60,590 yearly salary, all for doing nothing.

    Here is the list of the states where the pre-tax equivalent β€œsalary” that welfare recipients receive is higher than having a job:

    1. Hawaii : $60,590

    2. District of Columbia : $50,820

    3. Massachusetts : $50,540

    4. Connecticut : $44,370

    5. New York : $43,700

    6. New Jersey : $43,450

    7. Rhode Island : $43,330

    8. Vermont : $42,350

    9. New Hampshire : $39,750

    10. Maryland : $38,160

    11. California : $37,160

    12. Oregon : $34,300

    13. Wyoming : $32,620

    14. Nevada : $29,820

    15. Minnesota : $29,350

    16. Delaware : $29,220

    17. Washington : $28,840

    18. North Dakota : $28,830

    19. Pennsylvania : $28,670

    20. New Mexico : $27,900

    21. Montana : $26,930

    22. South Dakota : $26,610

    23. Kansas : $26,490

    24. Michigan : $26,430

    25. Alaska : $26,400

    26. Ohio : $26,200

    27. North Carolina : $25,760

    28. West Virginia : $24,900

    29. Alabama : $23,310

    30. Indiana : $22,900

    31. Missouri : $22,800

    32. Oklahoma : $22,480

    33. Louisiana : $22,250

    34. South Carolina : $21,910

    Now do you think we should reform welfare?

    http://www.cato.org/publications/commentary/when-welfare-pays-better-work

  8. coyote says:

    I. Can’t. Stand. Anymore. News. Today.

    These democrats/liberal/marxists are just obviously doubling down on the double stupid these days. It’s embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

