Open Thread, Monday 10 March 2014 – Happy Birthday Barn!

Barn6

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Birthdays, Blogospheria, Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Open Thread, Monday 10 March 2014 – Happy Birthday Barn!

  1. zmalfoy says:

    Happy Birthday Barn!!! ^_^

  2. texan59 says:

    Happy birthday barn – live it large. πŸ™‚

  3. zmalfoy says:

    Also, Grunt: Those pink oven mitts are really quite fetching! πŸ˜†

    • solaratov says:

      I noticed those, too. You don’t suppose there’s something Grunt’s not telling us, do you? πŸ˜† πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜†

      III

      • zmalfoy says:

        LOL! Oh, but I’ve met his lovely wife and awesome son, so I think he’s just very secure in his masculinity. . . πŸ˜›

        • LOL! *snork!* Thanks for standing up for me, Zoph. But you forgot that we had TWO sons with us when we visited your mom’s Maryland Crabcake-Fest. Which one did you not notice? One of them’s going to be very hurt. πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜‰

          • zmalfoy says:

            Lol, they sorta morphed together into one big Mass of Awesome! My clearest memory of that night is all of us laughing over Big-Hair-Dude from Ancient Aliens. Well, that and the shrine and your very kind gift (which is in my front window, guarding the front door) ^_^

            • Really? Very cool! I always wondered if he made it home intact, without the bow getting broken off. That was/is a very cool statue. And appropriate to mention today, since Barn takes his name from his arrow-slinging exploits, and your Uriel features a bow & arrows. I don’t know if that was traditional, though, right? I always thought Uriel was a “flaming sword” kinda angel?

              • zmalfoy says:

                We~el, strictly speaking, as Uriel is a non-canonical angel (why I was so surprised to see him in the window of the gift shop), and was “demoted” to “mere saint” back in the 8th century, St. Uriel is usually shown just holding a flame in the palm of his hand.

                Aside from that, outside of “approved” sources ( πŸ˜› lol) . . . I seem to remember something about a flaming whip used to chastise sinners in Tartarus, over which he presides (though I’m hard pressed to find the reference at the moment). Some sources have him as the angel of the East Gate, with the firey sword, but this is also attributed to other angels, such as Jophiel or Michael. Honestly, I wouldn’t have assigned him such an air-centered weapon, myself, as I associate that element with Raphael, vs. Uriel being associated with elemental Earth (though there are some interesting depictions from the 17th century showing Uriel with a gun, which doesn’t strike me as odd, maybe because “big booms” I would almost always associate with Uriel).

                What it comes down to, is that Uriel exists is a weird place, his hagiography unregulated and influenced by every dang thing from Islam through the new age. In Islamic imagery, he gets the horn that announces the end of days (this is generally Gabriel in Christian tradition), and is thus held as the Angel of Music. In esoteric strains of Christianity, he’s a major guardian over the cycles of life and death, often held to be the Angel of Death, that inspected the blood-stained doorways of the Hebrews in Egypt. In the New Age. . . well, any one of that lot can say anything they want, so I generally ignore. Because of all of this, there’s little in the way of standard imagery.

                The one thing that everyone agrees on, like with Michael, is that Uriel is a Heavy Dude. If I were to cast him, I’d try to get Samuel L Jackson. Or someone with the presence of Sam Jackson and the build of Vin Diesel. . .*boom*, yanno?

  4. barnslayer says:

    Funny stuff Grunt!!! Thanks

  5. solaratov says:

    Happy Birthday, Barn!! Here’s wishing that you enjoy many more, too.

    And that you’ll be able to celebrate the next one in one of the still-free states.

    III

  6. texan59 says:

    Oh yeah, when the NSA does it it’s creepy, but when Mickey Mouse does it, it’s ok. πŸ™„

    http://money.msn.com/technology-investment/post–disney-bets-big-on-visitor-tracking-technology

    • Haven’t had time to read it yet, but I’m surprised she held out that long. A reporter actually doing her job can’t be tolerated for long by management. They must have made her life hell.

  7. Well, I did a Google search today, and I was foolishly shocked to see that I first had to read their propaganda about supporting women in leadership by supporting the #BanBossy boycott of the word “bossy” promoted by the Girl Scouts and LeanIn.org.

    At first I thought it was a joke, but they really think we should ban the use of the word “bossy” because it’s hate speech that keeps girls from expressing themselves. As Iowahawk said, maybe we should just use the gender-neutral term “assholes.” That would be better. He also added: “The language beatings will continue until the respect improves.” Oh, brother.

  8. barnslayer says:

    Anyone hear Michael Medved’s comments today regarding CPAC today? Roughly, he said the fewer people that show up dressed in American Revolution uniforms the better. Maybe I’m just sensitive but it sounded like a direct insult to the TEA Party.

    • I didn’t, but it sure sounds like an anti-Tea Party statement to me. It could just be a “don’t embarrass us with the goofiness” statement, but that’s still wrong. If we’re made fun of for our patriotism, then I think that’s their problem, not ours.

    • zmalfoy says:

      Hmm. . .excpet, remember that Glenn Beck (very much a supporter of the Tea Party), several years ago was asking people to stop wearing the costumes, because it made it that much easier for others to dismiss the Tea Party as “those wacko nuts”.

      I don’t know Medved well, nor did I hear the statement, so I’m not sure the tone or context. I’m just saying that Beck said similar, and I don’t think anyone can argue that he’s anything but very-pro-Tea-Party

  9. Knight4GFC says:

    I know… please forgive me. I’m late to the party…

    Brother Barn! May God bless you with many more years! May He guide you with His Holy Spirit and keep you and yours, forever safe in His Arms. I pray that you find a more hospitable place to live soon. God bless! πŸ™‚

    • No worries, Knight. He’ll be happy to see it in the morning.

      You made it into the comic strip! You picked up an extra beard, though. Sorry about that. The comic I stole that one from had too many beards. I had no control over that. πŸ˜€

      • barnslayer says:

        No beard here either. I let it slide as artistic license.

        • I appreciate the slack. You were shown as balding, too, so I hope that wasn’t too offensive. Grunt, on the other hand, was pictured absolutely accurately. Except for the pink oven mitts. πŸ˜‰

          • barnslayer says:

            From what I’ve seen we use the same barber.
            null

            • Well, it’s fast and cheap. And, of course, it drives the ladies crazy, right? πŸ˜‰

              • barnslayer says:

                It amazes, and sickens me what I witness “guys” having done at the barber. I’m not talking about trimming nose hair or the old clear coat manicure the mafiosa would get in the old days. I’m talking about hairline and eyebrow sculpting, facials…. PAMPERING!!!
                It just ain’t right!
                And this place is a “barber shop”. Not some fancy salon. A regular haircut just went up to $15 which is still very reasonable around here. I just tell the guy “clippers #2”. If it’s summer, #1. Done. Where’s my Cabelas cap?

              • I’m with you. Whenever my wife sees some guy all “done up,” she starts snickering. She has a hard time controlling the urge to make fun of ’em. I just shake my head. Too many girly-men.

    • barnslayer says:

      Thanks Knight!

  10. Knight4GFC says:

    Christians Slaughtered As America Sits By

    …Our government continues to fail Christians around the world. Whether they’re being persecuted in Islamic nations or communist ones – our government does not care to move to help them. Our politicians only act in their own perceived interests, never for the betterment of humanity.
    Read more at http://eaglerising.com/5055/christians-slaughtered-america-sits/#szXsFMVhTg9yMfBy.99

  11. Knight4GFC says:

    “The bill says any federal law impeding Missourians’ Second Amendment rights is null and void. Federal agents enforcing such laws could face civil or criminal penalties up to one year in jail with a $1,000 fine.”

    This State Could Jail U.S. Agents Who Enforce Federal Gun Laws
    http://www.teaparty.org/missouri-passes-bill-federal-law-impeding-2nd-ammendment-null-void-36607/

  12. Knight4GFC says:

    “We now have desensitization – desensitizing the people getting used to seeing military hardware on local roadways.

    DHS procuring-reserving nearly 2-billion rounds of ammo.
    Check points to travel within our own country.
    Paramilitary civilian police forces.
    Mass surveillance of all citizens.
    Political elite above the law.
    Intimidation of press.

    Something’s afoot…”

    Homeland Security Pre-Staging A Domestic Military Force
    http://www.shtfplan.com/headline-news/homeland-security-pre-staging-a-domestic-military-force_03102014

  13. Knight4GFC says:

    Obama to Cut Key Reconnaissance Fleet By 25 Percent
    Planes being used to monitor Ukraine crisis
    http://freebeacon.com/obama-to-cut-key-reconnaissance-fleet-by-25-percent/

  14. Knight4GFC says:

    This “club” has been a scourge in the sides – livelihood of the locals here in Hawaii.

    Sierra Club to #Up4Climate Senators: Don’t Forget About Population Control
    http://freebeacon.com/sierra-club-to-up4climate-senators-dont-forget-about-population-control/

  15. texan59 says:

    Some pretty cool space pictures. I haven’t been watching the Cosmos series, but these are quite impressive.

    http://io9.com/nasa-unveils-a-gorgeous-new-gallery-of-celestial-images-1540312648

  16. Barn,
    Please accept a very belated, and very heart-felt: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

