Open Thread, Sunday 13 April 2014 – Palm Sunday

HotRodChurchOfGod
Happy Palm Sunday, All! ย It’s now Holy Week, and Easter is days away.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Open Thread, Sunday 13 April 2014 – Palm Sunday

  1. barnslayer says:

    Today Mrs. Barnslayer and I celebrate our 34th wedding Anniversary.

    • Holy schamoley, Barn! Congratulations and blessings to you both! We just celebrated our 30th a few months ago. I think that’s a great place to be. The marriage is mature, the kids are old enough to be interesting, and there’s still room (if there’s ever time) for a little romance. Have a great day, Folks!

      • Shalini says:

        So you spotted your error before I could rag you about it! Buzzkill!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        • Bwah hah haaah! Yes! And I was very embarrassed to have put up a photo of 2 male lions nuzzling for Barn’s anniversary. At least these kitties are of more ambiguous gender, so I’m safe… kinda. ๐Ÿ˜†

          • Shalini says:

            Oh… I was going to have so much fun with that!!!

          • Shalini says:

            Ya know… Looking at this picture, it looks as if the top kitty is strangling the the bottom one. I am not sure what messages you are trying to send barn on his special day!! *scratches chin*

    • Shalini says:

      Awesome!!! Congrats Barn and dear Mrs. Barn!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Jim and I will be celebrating our first soon! I can’t believe it’s already a year!!

      • Pre-Congrats on that, Shal! How’s the little one doing? Still snoozing or ready to be born?

        • Shalini says:

          Very active and kicking me as if he’s a bongo player or something!! At least, it’s just him bothering me now. I am at my parents place now and will be here for another 6 months. So plenty of time for the blog!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

          • That’s great! For the next few weeks, we will refer to you as “Bongo.” ๐Ÿ™‚ And what do you mean “just him bothering me now?” At your parent’s place, you KNOW you will end up taking care of them, too. I bet you will stay busy. I hope you find some time for blogging, though.

            • Shalini says:

              Nah!! They are full on pampering me now. I may be busy but just not as much. We have people coming to help cooking and cleaning now. I arranged for it before I left last year. So I don’t have much physical work per say.

        • Knight4GFC says:

          I second that! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • zmalfoy says:

      HAPPY ANNIVERSARY MR and MRS BARNSLAYER!!!! W0000000000t! Yatta!!!!!

    • Congratulations Barn and Mrs. Barn! May God grant you both with many more years together. Form Mrs. GFC and I we wish you both continued Blessings and Unity in your life as one.
      And on a somewhat different note; Barn I missed your b-day and wanted very much to wish you a Blessed b-day as well. I was very much tied up that entire week but want to assure you that we said special prayers for you on your birthday and for the parents that bore you as well. God Bless You my BIC!
      Mrs GFC and I chose to be married on Ascension Thursday 1984. Although it is a movable feast that is the way we choose to celebrate it that way. So we will be celebrating our 30th this year also. And if Grunt reads this. what is the date of your Anniversary?

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Congratulations! God bless you both! That is quite an accomplishment in today’s crazy world. I pray you both have many more blessed years together! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Coyote says:

      Dude. barn. That’s cool. Congrats and stuff.
      I don’t keep women around more than two or three years.

      I wished I could find a woman who would freakin’ stop trying to drain my bank account and realize that life is more than shopping at the mall.

      Shopping is NOT a hobby.

      So, yeah. Congrats barn…and stuff….

      • Yeah, no kidding about the money drain. Mine has this idea that she’s got to keep changing everything every few days. It’s little stuff, usually bought at Target. Stuff guys wouldn’t even think to buy. Like decorative crap you hang on doorknobs. I keep threatening to use ’em for target practice. Why do you need to hang decorations on friggin’ doorknobs? What if you need to, you know, TURN the doorknob with your hand? You have to take the stupid thing off first. This is why married guys don’t live very long. They get stomach cancer in no time. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        (In case it’s not obvious, I’m just kidding around. I woulda been dead a long time ago if it weren’t for my good wife.)

        • zmalfoy says:

          ๐Ÿ˜›
          Some of us drain the money for good reasaons, like books, ammo, more shiney throwing knives, and maybe, once every few years, shoes to replace the ones that are killing our knees. . .

          There are only two door knobs in my house that have anything hung on them: The front door has some copper bells tied on with a string, and the inside of my bedroom door has the sword I got for free that one time . . . that’s not too aggregious, is it? ๐Ÿ˜›

          • No, that’s not too bad. Actually, you might get extra points for good perimeter defense. When you get no-knock raided for keeping that library book too long, the bells will tell you which door they’re ramming, and when they crash your bedroom door, one of them will get stabbed in the knee by the sword. Winning! ๐Ÿ˜€

            • zmalfoy says:

              lol, that’s actually kinda why I put the bells there. Because I live in a rather urban-suburban area, not that far from some industrial area, there is always thumping and booming happening, sometimes shaking the house (esp if a large truck goes by). If I’m not looking at the front door when it happens, it can be disconcerting. They don’t sound if it’s one of those things, but if the door actually moves, they chime very prettily!

              And I’m just trying to keep my blades off the floor (except for the bedside katana, which is propped up by my bed. Oh, and the nodachi that I have to find a nice place for)–So I’ve hooks in the living room with ninjato and kunai, nails in the study deplaying some nice titanium-finished throwing knives, random knives and kunai on bookshelves throughout the house . . . and the one on the doorknob. . . lol

              • You keep a katana by the bed? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I can see the headline now: “Maryland woman slices intruder into 4 equal pieces; Japanese mafia pulls out of eastern U.S.”

              • Knight4GFC says:

                I’m sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

              • zmalfoy says:

                LOL! Yes, I have a katana by the bed. The nodachi is by the dresser. Due to the state of MD’s gun laws, I might not be able to get my .45 ready in time, should someone come in when I’m deeply asleep. Due to the layout of my house, if I’m in my bedroom, no one can attack until they’re within reach of my blade. Getting silcey and stabby would allow me time to finish get the gun together so I could shoot the bastard properly. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

                And, while I may have never done kendo, I was in junior olympics for fencing, and was even better with sabre than with foil (my competition weapon). And sabre isn’t that different from the east asian blades, with size and weight the only difference (meaning, your follow through time is slower, and it’s harder to adjust your thrust once started. Likewise harder to parry as you attack. However, it also means you do more damage with a single strike– which is the idea.)

                So, it’s not entirely ridiculous that a blade would be my bedside go-to (as opposed to a Louisville Slugger) . . .

              • Coyote says:

                Hey, I actually keep a Louisville Slugger behind one of my doors…amongst some other type “boom” sticks. Some tools are for some tasks, some are for others. You just never know the situation in which you’ll need to pick one over another.

              • zmalfoy says:

                Agreed! ๐Ÿ˜› Esp if you have good, manly upper body strength, a proper baseball bat can do a lot of damage very easily. . .

              • And right next to that bat is my broom. Just in case I need a back up vehicle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • tessa50 says:

      Happy happy anniversary!!

    • frenchreader says:

      Funny coรฏncidence, it is our 40th wedding anniversary on April 13th too !

  2. Shalini says:

    Wish you all a very blessed Palm Sunday!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Didn’t I call this? GM Management was warned about steering problems all the way up to the CEO in 2011, but somehow, their response is to put 2 engineers on suspension pending investigation. Why not put a few janitors on suspension, too? Or Mary’s driver? Sh*t still flows downhill.
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2014/04/12/GM-Was-Warned-of-Steering-Problems-in-2011

  4. I say we give him the same treatment as Mitchell. He seems to be asking for it.

  5. solaratov says:

    Via Steve Quayle…

    To put it bluntly, the people are being hoodwinked into believing that the situation is being resolved. It is not. It is a strategic de-escalation to fool the public.

    Date: Saturday, 12 April 2014
    Time: 1840 ET
    To: Steve Quayle
    From Doug Hagmann

    At 1750 hours ET, I was contacted by my source within the Department of Homeland Security regarding the current situation at the Bundy Ranch. To put it bluntly, the people are being hoodwinked into believing that the situation is being resolved. It is not. It is a strategic de-escalation to fool the public. This source stated that the retreat of the BLM agents and the release of the cattle was actually crafted as a potential plan yesterday (Friday, 11 April 2014) based on the following:

    1. A military assessment of satellite and drone surveillance imagery of the โ€œpatriot resistance. Drones under the control of the U.S. military were in use, taking real-time photographic images of not just the activity at the ranch, but “identifying the protesters, any arms and any supplies they might have or be carrying. โ€œMission accomplished.โ€
    2. Real-time communication intercepts between patriots on-site and their off-site support;
    3. Active monitoring of internet traffic regarding the coverage of events at ranch;
    4. The monitoring of real-time video from the scene.

    This source stated that a response by the patriot movement was anticipated, although exceeded their expectations. Although this was a real operation, they also ran this as a test case for future government operations once they saw the response. They were also actively managing the media, in some cases threatening to cut off White House access to anyone covering the event.

    Despite this, the coverage by the alternative media began to create a public relations problem that was not easily managed. Note the lack of acknowledgment by the White House regarding this event. They are intentionally framing it as a state issue, despite the fact that all federal response has been and continues to be from the White House. There is a reason for this โ€“ a reason that has not been identified in any of the public reports to date. I will explain in further detail in a follow-up report on Sunday, after this source attends [redacted] to obtain more specific information about future federal operations. Regardless, according to this source, the government will take back โ€˜their landโ€™ as they must to fulfill international obligations. It was never about grazing rights or anything other than (1) โ€œsecuring clear titleโ€ to the land, and (2) further demonizing any patriotic resistance. It is my understanding, based on the information from this source, that it is a critical task to create a situation that will also advance their agenda of gun control and confiscation.

    A more detailed report will follow on Sunday, 13 April 2014, with additional and much more specific information about their inside plans and future operations.PLEASE MAKE THIS VIRAL!

    Apr 12, 2014

    http://www.stevequayle.com/index.php?s=33&d=877

    III

  6. barnslayer says:

    Thanks to all of you for your heartfelt good wishes and prayers!

  7. tessa50 says:

    http://www.orlandosentinel.com/news/politics/fl-gun-bills-tallahassee-20140413,0,6436440.story

    I have serious concerns about this warning shot bill. This is not open country in most places here and that round is going to go somewhere. Also, while not opposed to people being armed at schools, who is going to monitor this and decide who shall be armed? I am all for citizens being able to carry legally, so please don’t misunderstand me, but this is being pushed hard and I think for political reasons and not with reasoned thought beforehand.

    • barnslayer says:

      The person firing a warning shot would no doubt be responsible for collateral damage. My concern (since I don’t know the specifics) does the law make the warning shot a mandatory precursor to actually defending yourself? That would be a big problem causing many innocent casualties and unnecessary property damage.

Leave a Reply

