Solaratov’s Care Package

For those who don’t know, our resident Vietnam Vet and weapons go-to guy, Vladimir Solaratov, has been laid up in the hospital battling cancer. We don’t know the entire diagnosis, but it’s serious. It looks like his cancer has settled into the bones of his spine from another source, probably some other organ(s), and he is now recovering from surgery while he awaits treatment.
Goodies1
Since he’s in fairly decent shape so far, and hasn’t started any treatments, we (and the ICU nurses) thought he might be able to enjoy some good magazines and snacks. So this is what we’ve gathered to send. Click the photo to see a more detailed close-up.

Here also, is our Get Well Soon card, from all the blogging crew pictured on the card. I have not tried to label any of the characters. Β This will go out Wednesday, headed from Colorado to Missouri. Β  Sol thanks you all for your prayers!
Card1

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Solaratov’s Care Package

  1. MRM says:

    Thanks so much for doing this Grunt. I can give my contribution to your Mom if that’s okay. I don’t see the O Magazine in the photo though… did I miss something? Did it self-combust? Still sending prayers and best wishes for Sol!

    • That’d be wonderful, M. Whatever’s convenient.

      The Oprah mag already made it to him yesterday along with a Hot Rod mag and a (manly) silk flower arrangement, which is all we could send to ICU. I still don’t know how he took it. There was probably a lot of shouting. πŸ˜‰

      So, which animal do you want to be, M?

  2. zmalfoy says:

    Awesomesauce! Very cool!

  3. ZurichMike says:

    Did not know about Sol. Will add him to my prayers.

  4. Harvey says:

    Adding thanks for doing all this, Grunt. Very nice.

  5. ZurichMike says:

    By the way, ZurichMike “the Wise Owl” is missing from the picture.

  6. Thanks everybody! I just got off the phone with Sol. He’s been moved to a less-critical unit, but he’s still in bad shape. His first comment was that they’re torturing him, and I don’t think he’s kidding. But he’s only talking about the back pain, which is constant, looks like. They cut on the middle of his back to relieve pressure on the nerves, and when they do that, you just can’t get enough morphine. He’s talking (barely) and eating, apparently, so he’ll be able to make use of our care package when it arrives on Friday. Sounds like they gave him salad to eat today, so that really might constitute torture according to the Geneva Convention. Maybe some nice peppery bison jerky will be welcome by Friday.

    • Shalini says:

      I hope his pain eases soon.

      • So do I. After almost a week without a let-up, he’s getting worn out. I need to say some more rosaries to pray for his strength.

        • MRM says:

          What if we set a time when we could all pray for Sol at once? Kind of along the lines of the old 9 pm Eastern prayer for America (which I still do most nights – assuming that at least a handful of others are observing the minute of prayer along with me) If we could come up with a time of day that might work for everyone here – whether it’s morning or evening or in between, we could all join in prayer for a minute or a few – for Sol – and any other intentions we are aware of… ?

          • Shalini says:

            That is a brilliant idea, MRM!! Even if it’s late night or early morning it’s fine by me.

            • MRM says:

              Thanks Shal! I’m fine with any time of day as well. I’m a firm believer in the power of “two or more … gathered in my name”…

            • It’s almost 9pm here in the Rocky Mountains, or 11pm on the east coast. I know it’s morning in India. What time is it now, Shal?

              • Shalini says:

                It’s 8:15 am here now.

              • MRM says:

                hmmm… what time is it in Hawaii? and in Zurich? We may have to choose a couple of times and everyone who’s awake and available can join in at one or both..? If it’s an ongoing thing, that might be a good idea anyway. Some of us would be able to join in both times, others one or the other. Or, is that over-complicating it?

              • I’m 12 and a half hours behind you. Our east coast is 10 and a half behind. If we made it 9pm EDT, that would be 7pm for me and 6:30am for you, Shal. Would that be too early for you?

              • Shalini says:

                No, that’s fine. I am mostly up by 5:30 – 6:30, so that’s a good time for me.

              • Except that ZMike will be in the very early morning hours then, like MRM pointed out. This is tough!

              • It is now 5:03 pm and as long as I kmno what time you all want to make this happen i’ll be sure to be a part of it no matter what time. I get up at 4 a.m. if that helps

              • Shalini says:

                It’s okay if it’s a earlier time for me. I can be up anytime to pray. So if you pick a time that suits everyone else but an odd timing for me, that shouldn’t be a problem.

              • Actually, GFC, it would help a lot if you can do it at 4am or so. That allows us to bracket the main night hours between India and Hawai. So, here’s the rough plan:

                Hawaii: 4am
                Denver: 8am
                Houston: 9am
                Virginia/WDC: 10am
                Zurich: 4pm
                Chenai: 7:30pm

                If Shal is willing to go a little bit later in the evening, that will ease GFC’s 4am time.

              • Hey 4 a.m. is the best time of day to pray! nothing beats mornings. it’s fresh before our minds get all busy with the world stuff. 4 a.m., prayers and a cup of coffee…..I’m good, I’m good!

              • MRM says:

                Thanks for putting it all together Grunt. It was making my brain hurt. I’m in for whatever time we decide on. πŸ™‚

              • freedom1781 says:

                9 a.m. sounds good for this Virginia girl!

              • Sounds good. Let’s jump this discussion to the bottom with a summary.

              • freedom1781 says:

                Oh, it should be 10 a.m.

              • Sorry, Freedom. I had to adjust my guesses!

              • Shalini says:

                Sure, Grunt! As I said, anytime is fine for me. Just let me know the time. If it’s 7:00 am for you, it should be 6:30 pm for me. (We have the odd half hour:)) Any later is fine too.

          • freedom1781 says:

            That’s a great idea!

          • freedom1781 says:

            I’m a night owl, but any time is fine. I get up at 6 a.m. EST.

  7. I’m praying for Sol’s healing.

    Thank you, Grunt, for sending the cool care package. I’m not sure which animal I’d pick, but certainly not the rhino! πŸ™‚

  8. freedom1781 says:

    Wow. What a cool care package! I’m sure Sol will love it. As far as the animals on the card, I’ll be the zebra. πŸ˜€

  9. Here’s the plan for our Worldwide Sol Prayer Moment:
    Hawaii: 4am
    Denver: 8am
    Houston/Minneapolis: 9am
    Indy/Virginia/WDC: 10am
    Zurich: 4pm
    Chenai: 7:30pm

    Shal, is the evening ok for you?

    So this will be tomorrow morning for most of us. It will be THIS afternoon for ZMike and tonight for Shal.

    Ready… Break! Let’s do it!

  10. Pingback: Tomorrow is World Wide Pray for Solaratov Day! | For God, Family, and Country

Leave a Reply

