Open Thread, Saturday 17 May 2014

elephants
See, this is why I hate excessive rules. Like St. Paul said: “Fathers, don’t discourage your children. If they want to bring their elephant into the living room, let them. Just make sure they’re responsible and pay for any damage out of their allowance.” I may not be strictly remembering that last part… Paraphrasing.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Open Thread, Saturday 17 May 2014

    • Same here! I’m guzzling coffee right now. GFC just told me he’s been doing without coffee on some new diet and I almost fell over! How does that work? I might live without food and water for a few days, but not coffee. Maybe survive until 11:30am, but no longer than that!

      • Knight4GFC says:

        I have no idea! Perhaps GFC could explain? For me, its; “no coffee, no workee”. 😀

      • What A Hoot says:

        Here’s my story. One time I had a SEVERE (all caps so you know it was SEVERE) headache. I took everything imaginable,even some of the good stuff (narcotics). Nothing helped. I got sick. Puking. Dizzy. Went to ER. Morphine was my friend, along with some anti-nausea stuff. Morphine wore off. Headache still there. CAT/MRI or whatever it was,showed nothing but maybe something in my sinus a problem. Finally sent me home with combination of stuff (discovered I like valium, hehe). After another couple of days no headache just really dragged out from all the drugs. Morning. I reach into the cupboard to get the coffee to make a pot and I focus on one, teeeny, tiny word: Decaffeinated”. I had mistakenly purchased decaf and had had a caffeine withdrawal headache!!!

    • barnslayer says:

      I’m not up on all the taxes they pay but you know the money has to come from somewhere. Just like socialized medicine. “Hey we get our Rx filled for free. Yes a cheeseburger costs $35 but what’s that got to do with anything?”

  1. Jerry Brown issues letter clarifying why global warming caused San Diego wildfires. (WNB parody)

  2. CDC: Inner City Youth Suffering from “Hood Disease”
    OAKLAND, California (WNB) – A new study from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) claims at least 30 percent of inner city youth suffer from a type of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Researchers have termed the disorder “hood disease.”

    “Individuals in inner cities face a number of stressful problems daily, such as ‘can I sell enough food stamps to buy crack tonight,’ or ‘my Obama phone doesn’t have enough minutes’ – things like that,” explained CDC research coordinator Mavis Brown. “Unfortunately, the only relief available to these sufferers is to viciously beat and rob whites and especially Asians. Sadly, it’s more of a cry for help than permanent cure.”

    The Obama administration is reportedly studying hood disease to determine what type of financial and/or material incentives may be used to treat the problem.

  3. texan59 says:

    The guy walks away. 😯

Leave a Reply

