Ann Barnhardt’s Next Mission: Change Course; Don’t Quit

This is why I’ve found myself criticizing Ann so much over the last few years: “Why I’m considering quitting.”  Read it if you must.  Though it contains a lot of truth, there is so much wrong with this screed, I wouldn’t recommend reading it.  The title says it all.  She hasn’t quit yet, but she’s at the end of a very long process of quitting that began over two years ago.  People warned her – lots of people – that in addition to listening to the Right Voice, she was also listening to some of the wrong voices.  If she ever considered that advice, she hid it well.  She did what she’s good at doing; she isolated herself and lashed out at the very friends who dared to caution and criticize her, apparently preferring instead those who only praised her.  Ironically, that is the opposite of what she sought to teach others.

8305733-solitude-concept-lonely-sad-woman-in-the-woodsBut that’s probably a too-simple assessment.  She’s a complex woman and I don’t know her well enough to judge.  But here’s what we DO know.  All of us will be judged by our fruits, and the fruit of this particular painful essay by Miss Barnhardt is despair.  That is proof of something I will not even dare to mention.  But I’ll pray, as I have been doing for two years, for her to open her eyes to the hope that certain twisted spirits have succeeded in preventing her from seeing.  That is, the fullness of hope that our Good God promises, that exists not merely for the next life, but runs, gushing, like a raging torrent, into this one.

Updated from the comments … (from response to Wraith):

I don’t dispute her facts about where things are in this formerly-great nation. However, I DO think that Ann’s perception of those facts has been exceedingly narrow for some time, and worse than that, she’s allowed her narrow view to cause her to willingly exclude many facts that might change her perception of what’s possible. I believe her faith has been damaged by it. She still has a strong faith, but it’s the faith of a martyr already mortally wounded. And it’s not just her faith in the people around her that has been compromised. Her faith in God, Himself, has become woefully diminished if she really thinks He is not working right now to deliver us and doing so by raising up genuine saints and heroes all around us. She is blind to their existence because she has made herself blind to them. Why? I have no idea. But she is stuck in a rut of lamenting day after day about how God has given her such shit to work with when she is sitting at the wheel of a solid gold Ferrari built by angels. But she can’t see it. She has not taken the time to wipe the dirt from her glasses.

Let me tell you something I know for a fact. We are living in a time of extraordinary events like nothing that’s happened before. The seemingly endless repetitions of history will not last much longer. It’s been foretold, Jack, and we’re there. Things are going to happen within the next few years that you will be glad you were around to see. There will be plenty of suffering and humiliation to go around, for sure. We’re not quite done with that. But God doesn’t do anything without showing off a little. Sometimes a lot. And He always does it with the help and cooperation of those who love Him. Let me tell you, there are lots of those people still left. Millions of them. Hundreds of millions of them. Some of them are positioned, even now, to make a big difference in coming months. But such is the nature of God’s work that it gets revealed suddenly and often without warning. Ann’s job, and her great opportunity, if she would only choose to accept it, is to clue people in on some of the encouraging things happening in the shadows so that they might know what to expect when the time comes for a little real glory. Back in 2010, she performed that task beautifully; so well, in fact, that many are still drawing inspiration from the memory. But since then, she has decided to pass on that commission.  Don’t keep going down that road, Ann.  Embrace the mission, once again.  Please.

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Blogospheria, Servants of God. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Ann Barnhardt’s Next Mission: Change Course; Don’t Quit

  1. Wraith says:

    I can see both sides, here, bro.

    My own blogging has dropped off lately, because I just can’t bring myself to give a crap any more. Everything that needs to be said, has been. You either get it or you don’t, and too many people don’t. I’ve been beating the drum of liberty since Ann was six, and I gotta tell ya, my arms are freakin’ tired. So, yes–I can see where Ann is at.

    But it’s not necessarily despair. We’ve all read the Book, and we know who wins in the end. So, if we truly believe that Christ will return to establish His kingdom on Earth, we can really only pray that these actually are the End Times. We’re not despairing–we’re just sick of casting our pearls before swine and attempting to sell liberty, dignity and truth to those whose only concern is where they’re going to get more free shit.

    I think that Ann, like me, is tired of people not getting it, especially “Patriots” who still think that we don’t live under a Thug Regime, that the rule of law still matters in America, and that the next ‘Conservative’ politician will fix everything if we can just get him elected. Read her post again. Point out one thing she’s said about the current state of affairs that isn’t dead accurate. The Constitution is dead. The rule of law is dead. Pretending otherwise is just delaying the inevitable, most likely to our detriment.

    There’s a saying among juvenile gamers(only half-jokingly)when a woman comes into their forum: “Tits or GTFO.” When it comes to restoring America, I say “Balls or STFU.” You know what needs to be done, so do it or stop bitching.

    That’s the way I see it.

    • barnslayer says:

      I agree…. sort of. But it won’t happen from an individual effort unless some one person becomes a martyr in spectacular fashion. Otherwise it will take a groundswell and we’re just not there yet. On the other hand, if the next two major election cycles go well for us it may not be necessary. As far as bitching goes……… that’s how a lot of us communicate. When we stop bitching it will either be that we’re all dead or we’ve won.
      You and Ann may be ready to fill that martyr role (and if so more power to you) but I’d rather be around to see it through than die in the first volley.

    • I’m with you, Wraith, and I’ve been there, too. I think the low point for me was sitting in a hotel room on election night of 2012 when all the evil results became clear. That’s when the reality of how far this country has fallen came home to me, and since then, we’ve sunk even lower.

      I don’t dispute your facts or her facts about where things are in this formerly-great nation. However, I DO think that Ann’s perception of those facts has been exceedingly narrow for some time, and worse than that, she’s allowed her narrow view to cause her to willingly exclude many facts that might change her perception of what’s possible. I believe her faith has been damaged by it. She still has a strong faith, but it’s the faith of a martyr already mortally wounded. And it’s not just her faith in the people around her that has been compromised. Her faith in God, Himself, has become woefully diminished if she really thinks He is not working right now to deliver us and doing so by raising up genuine saints and heroes all around us. She is blind to their existence because she has made herself blind to them. Why? I have no idea. But she is stuck in a rut of lamenting day after day about how God has given her such shit to work with when she is sitting at the wheel of a solid gold Ferrari built by angels. But she can’t see it. She has not taken the time to wipe the dirt from her glasses.

      Let me tell you something I know for a fact. We are living in a time of extraordinary events like nothing that’s happened before. The seemingly endless repetitions of history will not last much longer. It’s been foretold, Jack, and we’re there. Things are going to happen within the next few years that you will be glad you were around to see. There will be plenty of suffering and humiliation to go around, for sure. We’re not quite done with that. But God doesn’t do anything without showing off a little. Sometimes a lot. And He always does it with the help and cooperation of those who love Him. Let me tell you, there are lots of those people still left. Millions of them. Hundreds of millions of them. Some of them are positioned, even now, to make a big difference in coming months. But such is the nature of God’s work that it gets revealed suddenly and often without warning. Ann’s job, and her great opportunity, if she would only choose to accept it, is to clue people in on some of the encouraging things happening in the shadows so that they might know what to expect when the time comes for a little real glory. Back in 2010, she performed that task beautifully, so well, in fact, that many are still drawing inspiration from the memory. But since then, she has decided to pass on that commission.

      • zmalfoy says:

        ^^This.

        I’ve been sick the past coupla weeks, so haven’t been saying much. . . but lets see if it’s possible to add my own thoughts. . . (please excuse shoddy syntax and rambling in advance)

        The reason I had to stop reading Ann’s writing was because her voice and words easily became weapons in claws of the self-contempt-beastie that likes to chew on my (figurative) shoulder and whisper in my (metaphoric) ear. I didn’t realize for some time how very destructive her words of truth were to me, and they were destructive because while they were True, and nothing but true, they weren’t the whole truth. They were . . . all sun, no rain. (makes the land a desert, yanno). Like a teacher who offers only criticism, but never praise. If you only pull on one side of the reins, you’ll end up riding in circles. Which is to say, you need both.

        I understand fatigue. I understand despair. I know how it creeps up inside, slithering delicately up your spine, through your brain, until it is not you looking out of your eyes, but the thousands of little despair-serpents crowding against the insides of your pupils, and everything you see is filtered through their eyes and not your own.
        God, yes, I know how this goes.

        And it’s so very easy to give in. To believe the whispers from Shoulder-beastie, to allow the despair-serpents their way. To just give up, because “I’m useless, I’m not doing any good, it’s all falling to Hell and all my efforts are in vain. Because I’m useless, and worthless and pathetic and I don’t even understand why I’m allowed to continue to exist . . .”

        But here’s the thing that I think we’ve forgotten these past decades (or longer): It’s not about one person rescuing the Republic. It’s not about the obvious, terrible signs of change. It’s a billion little things. One butterfly flapping it’s wings, times a million. These things are happening. Slowly, very slowly, the ship is changing course.

        And as for God. . . Faith and Hope are not easy things. If they were, they wouldn’t comprise 2 out of the 3 greatest virtuess. Hope is not simply optimism, or happy-go-lucky attitude, nor is Faith simple blind trust. They are the virtues of Endurance, the marathon slog of life. If faith is the virtue that says “It’s been so long since the stars shone through the clouds that I’ve nearly forgotten what they look like. But I know they are still there!”, then hope is the determination that says “And I’m damn well gonna live long enough to see them again!”

        Hope is not a wistful smile cast to heaven, it’s a middle finger cast to the demons that try to drag us down.

        Grunt is absolutely right: There are miracles coming, casting only faint, flickering light ahead of their arrival. We agree that, like an indulgent parent, God enjoys allowing us to “help out” with His work. And right now, our “helping out” is the ever-grueling work of Faith, Hope, and Love. Right now, we hold on as best we can, we pray, we flap our delicate wings against the roaring storm. Knowing, as we do, that we will not all survive, but trying anyway.

        As tired as one may be, it’s only when the fatigue and exhaustion hit that the Virtues of Endurance really mean anything. When your legs have become quivering jello, when everything hurts and blurs– this is when it’s most important to stand.

        For more similar thinking, there’s this: https://4gfc.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/chivalry-day-4/

        • Wow. Good words, Zoph. Thanks. I feel like I’m the one with the shoddy syntax and rambling today, though. Trying to work and go to meetings and write at the same time is not my bag. Guys aren’t multi-taskers, as y’all know… 😉

        • Also, some of your words (about shoulder-beastie and such) remind me of something C.S. Lewis said that applies to Ann. He said that children instinctively know all about the boogey-man. They already know the beast. They don’t need to be lectured endlessly about the devil and how screwed up everything is. (See where I’m going with this?) They need to hear about how there’s someone else stronger than the boogey-man. So, let’s do that with the kids, for a change.

          • zmalfoy says:

            Yes. We always need the reminder that there’s SomeOne stronger than the boogey man, so we don’t need to give in.

            Overall, I think we need a balanced approach. A reminder of winter in the summer, and a reminder of summer in the winter. There is Evil, and there is Good. There is Sin, and there is Grace. There are demons, and angels. We are all sinners, yes, but we’re all also Saints-in-waiting. We make many mistakes, yes, but God sees our hearts and intent, and delights in all the little gifts we bring before Him . ..

      • texan59 says:

        I have a lot of days when I just wonder WTF. However, it does me no good to bend over and accept “the inevitable”. I’m not going to do that, no matter how bad things get. I have my faith, just as Ann and most of us do. I would not consider myself much of a scholar in that field though, as Ann does. I wonder about her depth of faith when I read her posts of late though. IMHO, I see one who talks the talk, but I’m not sure she’s truly walking the walk. My faith tells me to work and hope for the best and still prepare for the worst. Once one gives up, I believe you are giving up on a lifetime of your beliefs as well as your higher power. I still read her posts occasionally, but don’t put near as much stock in a lot of her soliloquy’s. When you debate those with whom we disagree only in private and your MO is to hammer the other guy, that’s not the way to win the hearts and minds.

        • zmalfoy says:

          One of the rotating wallpapers on my desk at work is a graphic that says the following . .

          Apocaloptomist: One who knows it is all going to sh*t, but figures it’ll turn out okay in the end.

          That’s pretty much how I approach a lot of things. Stock up, train, pray. . .and know that as long as you’re doing what you can, as you can, He’ll take care of the rest.

  2. With God ALL things are possible, with man not so much! Hope is a mighty good thing to hold on to. Otherwise it is hopelessness and that is exactly what the ENEMY wants from you and you and you! So, do you know who your enemy is? Sometimes I think many people forget who their enemy is! Kind of like “love the sinner and hate the sin”! If you lose your balance then you need to return to YOUR foundation because there is something wrong with your Spiritual strength and guiding system!

  3. ZurichMike says:

    Ann is a convert to Roman Catholicism — and like many converts, she has become a zealot/hermit, espousing the Latin Tridentine Mass for example (nothing against that — I grew up on the Latin Mass). I don’t think her running down to a “van by the river” is an example of moral or spiritual courage Not by a long shot.

    Yes, she may be of great faith, but as James says, faith without works is dead. Dante tells us, too, that the darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis. Chucking in the towel and giving up? Don’t go there Ann. We need all of us, together, to salvage what we can.

  4. Adrienne says:

    Thanks for leaving a link at my place. I’ll be linking to this tomorrow (or later tonight.)

    The comments here are great. I’m sort of leaning toward Wraiths point of view, but also think your elaboration is excellent, too. Ah – confusion. Sigh

  5. You’re probably right. I both love Ann and also disagree on many things. I send her a couple of bucks now and then. Love much of her writing.

  6. Terry says:

    Your post is spot on.

    I have responded to Ann several times without avail that God is in control. How do I know? I have known for over 50 years (since shortly after my first communion) that a great event, shown to me through a lifetime of dreams and eventually revealed 2 years ago in a vision that strife, sufferings and a great war will take place in my lifetime. I wrote and told her that The Holy Spirit has been poured into me on multiple occasions beginning 3 years ago on the Feast of Corpus Christe and ending at a mass of consecration in September of the following year. Hopefully my continuing formation carries through one more year. In case you wondered, grace removes the desire to sin.

    I have more than an inkling of what God has in mind for me and I am sure I am not alone: lets hope not, for no matter how painful it will be (to quote my spiritual director) in the short term this evil that surround us will be crushed.

    • Welcome, Terry, and thanks for commenting! Your vision is consistent with that of other visionaries in the past and present. I have had no such personal visions, but a view of history and the current state of things with the assistance that the Holy Spirit lends to all of us, makes it pretty clear where we’re headed. There will be a lot of struggle, if not outright global war upon us pretty soon. But God’s hand will not be absent. He assures us about his presence continually for a reason, so I agree that we must keep our eyes open to his work around us and within us. I agree with you that this evil will be crushed, and we all want to be around to see it happen. So we can’t despair!

      I feel one of the key reasons for Ann’s despair is that she falls for the same temptation all young, virtuous, headstrong go-getters fall for. I be guilty, too. We want, we need, we expect things to happen the way we imagine it should be. We need to see heroes being lifted up around us and we need to know their names and we want to be able to guess how it will happen. That is not usually the way it works. God rarely shouts at us to “THINK!” He often shouts at us to “HAVE FAITH!”

      • Wraith says:

        Yes. Yes, this.

        God does want us to use our brains, else we wouldn’t have them. But we must remember that His ways are above our ways, His thoughts above our thoughts. We don’t comprehend the big picture. We can’t. We simply do not have the capacity to attain His perspective.

        So we must continue, in our own small ways, to stand for God in the face of darkness, even if it seems hopeless. That’s what hope and faith are all about. Thanks for the pep talk. 🙂

        (And keep the Swiss Miss away from Mrs. Wraith or you’ll never see it again.)

  7. I’m not sure about what is really going on in many Christians churches and the lack of guidance seems to be overwhelmingly low. I believe the spirit of Humanism has a large part to play here. I am aware of this spirit that may be misguiding many of our leaders and followers. We should be able to recognize the “fruit” that is brought forth from any spirit which bears good fruit or that which does not. Eventually it will show itself for those who seek the Truth in all things. What is so very important is that we remember God’s Word and His teachings and don’t deviate from that.
    I see that many individuals may desire or have some idea of this utopian sprit of “oneness” across the globe. Isn’t that just a lovely idea? Well I don’t see this ever happening! I don’t want to disrupt any one individual with this but this is certainly MHO. This utopian spirit of “oneness” with all people is not the message Christ brought into the world. Does he want unity? Of course but not at the expense of giving up your Pearls of great price! Yeah it’s just a real hard thing to swallow! The Truth that Christ offers is not so attractive as that of this worlds wisdom. And without the Grace of God would never be-for those whose lives are sufficed by this credo (of oneness with the cosmos) that so many people have laid out. As Christians we must face the issue. We know there is not one exhortation in Christianity to build a material paradise. Humanly speaking that is a pretty bleak statement. But it’s a fact! Even worse, from this point of view, there will never be peace between Christianity and the world until He comes again. We have God’s word on that. The world is the domain of the Prince, Jesus told us. He told us the reason for being on earth isn’t to build a paradise but to earn salvation in Heaven. The only way to accomplish that is to cooperate with Him. With His merits He won through the cross for us. He’s convinced us through His specific Words. Through His specific works!
    So the contrast is clear. Dedication to the attractive things of this earth. Or dedication to God who has seen fit to give us HIS laws to live by. It is a different doctrine because it runs directly against the tide of our passions. It contradicts the desires of our flesh and the concupiscence of our eyes and the pride of life. It demands sacrifice and pain and loss.
    The beauty of Christianity is that it does ensure eternal life for all who believe in it. It ensures that we live in the company of God for all eternity and that we will have full share in His beauty, His truth and His infinite happiness. So for me it is the “cradle and the cross” and the idea-the goal- that lie behind humility, holy poverty (un-attachment) and sacrifice are all the same to me.
    For me the sense of privilege, of camaraderie, of like mindedness of shared ideas of fellowship of unity here on earth gives me courage and strength. Of hope of greener pastures not yet realized by a unity of Christians to fulfill God’s will for us here on earth.
    Ultimately the battles inwardly will always be lonely ones. Those struggles to deny our earthly attractions that would allure and attacks our senses to that which harms the soul and darkens the eye. This is why we must guard the door and keep the Pearls Christ has given us. This is why we must have a personal relationship with God, not just a Sunday affair. This is also why the world will never welcome Christ. This is why “humanism” is not compatible with Christianity. Christ said He came into the world to save sinners. Christ came into the world to bring us His word. Christ is the Way, the Truth and the Life and anyone who follows Christ must pick up his own cross and follow!
    So pray for one another. Keep the Faith and hold onto the Pearls Christ gave you. Even at great cost and sacrifice! The end result by far outweighs the cost!

    • You must have worked on this a while, GFC. It’s magnificent.

      “We know there is not one exhortation in Christianity to build a material paradise.” And that sums up, in one sentence, what is misguided about our culture. We are not worldly paradise builders. If we get a worldly paradise, prior to the eternal one, then it will be as a reward, or an after-effect, to our efforts to be spiritually right and fit for it. C.S. Lewis wrote a lot about this, but so few people pay attention. The upshot is that our first goal cannot, can NEVER be, a paradise on Earth. It can never be without first being wholly full of the Spirit that guides us to Paradise. It can only happen, if it does at all, afterward.

      And every time we lose sight of that, and focus just on worldly things, the devil uses that as the wedge he needs to drive us away from the fountain that we need to flourish in reality. Thanks, Brother!

  8. HicksterA says:

    Hello. Jumping a bit into the convo here. Not really in-the-know much about Ann. Gleaning from what the content of comments is, perhaps just this to share? (Not sure the wording is exact, but the sentiment is there….. this from Robert Browning)
    ” I walked a mile with Joy; she chattered all the way. She left me none the wiser for that she had to say. I walked a mile with Sorrow and never a word said she; but, Oh, the thing I learned from her when Sorrow walked with me!”

    • Good one, Hickster. I’ve always loved Brownings insight there, and my father was a big fan. But I’ve come to disagree. We learn as much from Joy, who hardly chatters like an idiot. Perhaps he was getting Joy mixed up with her younger sister, Euphoria. Only the hardened cynic believes that Joy has nothing to teach us. And Sorrow’s messages are profound but deeply dangerous. Dangerous? One of my atheist buddies corrected me one time and asked me “How can an idea or an emotion be dangerous?” Of course, he was kind of an idiot. 😉

      • HicksterA says:

        Lol. Yeah. It’s two ways to see it, that is for sure. It may depend upon where one is at in the schema of life as to what “medicine” is necessary. A time for everything. Ecclesiastes.
        Truthfully, I don’t know much about Browning or his literary works. From time to time I have read, though.

Leave a Reply

