Open Thread, Sunday 6 July 2014

amXeBE9_700b_v1

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Open Thread, Sunday 6 July 2014

  1. Adrienne says:

    I actually have that problem. I have a beautiful corpus that is missing a cross. I would have to nail it on a hand-made cross. The thought makes me a tad queasy so as a result it’s been laying in a drawer for probably twenty years. Sigh…

    • barnslayer says:

      Glue it.

      • Follow the original instructions, nail it! Then instead of fealing queasy meditate while nailing the corpus, back onto the tree, on why and what it was/is that He chose to suffer for our sins and what we can do with our lives to exemplify the way of “Life” He ask us to take. HE lOVES YOU!

      • Adrienne says:

        GLUE!!!?? I never thought of glue, but then GFCinthatorder has a good suggestion too. What to do? What to do?

        • barnslayer says:

          Follow your heart. If you can appreciate GFC’s very legitimate advise use the nails. Keep in mind, the nail holes should be predrilled and large enough to prevent too-wide nails damaging the figure. If that imagery is a bit much for you, buy some epoxy. Make sure the contact surfaces are clean.

    • Funny story, Adrienne. I believe you!

  2. This new Caliph sports a $3000 wristwatch and people think it’s counter to his “message?” Where have these guys been? It’s exactly in line with his speech. He’s going to be the most opulent ruler in all the world. I’m surprised he didn’t show off his own solid gold Mercedes and his 30-girl harem gathered behind him.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/iraq/10949449/Abu-Bakr-al-Baghdadi-ridiculed-for-flashy-wristwatch.html

  3. First World Liberal Marriage Problems. OMG.
    “I realized that I resented falling in love so young. I was afraid of growing up, of becoming an adult. Patrick’s love was bottomless, and that scared me. I was afraid my own love would never measure up, and my attempts to quantify it left me exhausted.”
    http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/06/fashion/Modern-Love-Taking-Marriage-One-Year-at-a-Time.html
    Stole this from an Iowahawk tweet. Man am I sorry I read even a few paragraphs of this.

  4. texan59 says:

    Hey Grunt? Where is this joint? It’s been all over the interwebs for a few days.

    http://twitchy.com/2014/07/06/libs-hate-this-colorado-restaurant-where-even-the-waitresses-are-packing/

    • It’s a small town in the Colorado River canyon between Glenwood Springs and Grand Junction out in the Western part of the state. I’m kinda surprised it’s the only one of its kind. If I had a restaurant, I’d do the same thing. It’s crazy successful.

  5. Knight4GFC says:

    I know it’s late, but I’ll post it anyway. I’ll repost it tomorrow too I think.

    Watch in HD! Beautiful.

  6. Despite cutbacks, Army says they want a new combat pistol that’s harder hitting, but it remains controversial.
    http://www.foxnews.com/tech/2014/07/03/army-wants-harder-hitting-pistol
    The old argument continues. They went to Beretta 9mm for accuracy and reliability, and now they want bigger ammo. But whether that’s really a good thing is still debated.
    “The FBI and several major police departments recently decided to return to using the 9mm round after finding that .40 caliber ammunition was causing excessive wear on its service pistols.”
    “I talked to a Chicago cop that shot a guy eight times with a .45 to kill him and that was a 230 grain Hydra-Shok,” Langdon said. “And that guy now carries a 9mm …he realized that handgun bullets suck. “You have to shoot people a lot with a handgun.””

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Boy, I would love to get Solaratov’s input on this. I would say that it depends on the type of rounds used. I’ve seen that the .45 230 grain Hydra-Shok has a mixed-to-bad rap on the webs compared to other styles of HP.

    • Knight4GFC says:

      Suggestion? I know someone who purchased this one recently and loves it. Beretta 40 S&W or .45 ACP Px4 Storm http://www.beretta.com/en-us/px4-storm-full/#Main

      • barnslayer says:

        I personally don’t care for polymer frame guns for larger than 9mm. Metal framed pistols are more comfortable to shoot in the big calibers because they weigh more. You need to pick a pistol up to see if it’s comfortable. If you aren’t going carry concealed I’d get the CZ-97BD. It’s big so try it out. Otherwise get a 1911 clone. I like .45 better than .40 because it’s more common.

    • barnslayer says:

      This was going to happen sooner or later. The move to the 9mm in the 80’s was political nonsense. The Marines have adopted a modernized version of the traditional Colt .45 1911. The Army musta got jealous. I don’t see .40 making sense.
      The last quote about a Chicago cop sounds like utter BS. Maybe he needs to practice a bit.

Leave a Reply

