Open Thread, Thursday 7 August 2014

mauritius

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Open Thread, Thursday 7 August 2014

  1. The Verse of the day today is the verse which inspired our founders to create three branches of government:

    Isaiah 33:22
    “(For the LORD is our Judge, The LORD is our Lawgiver, The LORD is our King; He will save us);”

    Judicial, Legislative, and Executive.

  2. zmalfoy says:

    A short reflection on Architecture and Western Culture:

    http://blogofthecourtier.com/2014/08/06/the-crumbling-cube/

  3. tessa50 says:

    Thoughts and prayers for those in the path of these 2 hurricanes. Still a little confused as to who from here is in Hawaii, but hope you don’t bear the brunt of it.

  4. Pistol Pete says:

    Down to the wire prediction in key GOP primary
    Today is the Tennessee primary where Tea Party candidate Joe Carr is trying to unseat fossilized turd Lamar Alexander.In a nutshell,IMHO,ain’t gonna happen.Alexander is blessed to have 6 candidates splitting the conservative vote.Add his enormous money advantage and the power of incumbency and he will win,if by a small margin,like his buddy Pat ‘the rat’ Roberts did in Kansas and Sad Thad did in Mississippi.It seems to me establishment republicans put most of their energy into destroying conservative people they deem a threat to their cushy jobs.
    http://www.wnd.com/2014/08/down-to-the-wire-prediction-in-key-gop-primary/#YvXjHD92ba7gR5it.99

  5. Pistol Pete says:

    How ironic is this?
    Irony: Michelle Obama Says ‘No One Really Cares What You Had For Lunch’
    I tease my kids,” Michelle Obama said at a White House event on women’s empowerment with Laura Bush. “I tell them I want them to use Instagram to take a picture of something really important rather than their food… I mean, no one really cares what you had for lunch.” The audience laughed.
    Sarcastically,no doubt.
    http://www.cnsnews.com/mrctv-blog/barbara-boland/irony-michelle-obama-says-no-one-really-cares-what-you-had-lunch

    • barnslayer says:

      Yeah, and “nobody” cares what guns you own or where you get your health insurance either. And we all know who “nobody” is.

  6. Pistol Pete says:

    Oh Jimmy: Comedian Praises Abortion Film as ‘Lighthearted’ and ‘Funny’
    You may recall that “Obvious Child” is a film about a woman who has a one night stand, gets an abortion, and lives happily ever after. The actors were unforgiving about the plot. Slate appeared on “The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon” Friday to promote the film. He had nothing but happy reviews for the film:

    “It’s getting great reviews. Because it’s a serious issue, but you make it lighthearted, you make it funny. Good for you!”

    There’s nothing funnier than slaughtering unborn children,right?
    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/cortneyobrien/2014/08/05/oh-jimmy-comedian-praises-abortion-film-as-lighthearted-and-funny-n1874940

  7. Pistol Pete says:

    DREAMer tries to ambush Tep. Steve King.
    it didn’t work as planned:
    Erika Andiola says to King: “I’m actually a DREAMer myself. I’m originally from Mexico, but I’ve been raised here. I went to Arizona State University. I know you want to get rid of DACAs, I really want to give you the opportunity ’cause you really want to get rid of it, just rip mine,” Andiola tells King as she hands him her identification card. “Go ahead and do that.”

    ‘You Came from a Lawless Country; Do Not Import Lawlessness into America,’ Rep. King Tells Illegal Alien
    http://cnsnews.com/mrctv-blog/barbara-boland/you-came-lawless-country-do-not-import-lawlessness-america-rep-king-tells

  8. Pistol Pete says:

    OBAMA TOASTS ‘NEW AFRICA,’ HIGHLIGHTS TIES TO CONTINENT
    “I stand before you as the President of the United States and a proud American. I also stand before you as the son of a man from Africa,” he said. “The blood of Africa runs through our family. And so for us, the bonds between our countries, our continents, are deeply personal.”

    [Ambiguous sentence about African violence deleted by Grunt]
    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2014/08/06/Obama-Toasts-New-Africa-Highlights-Ties-to-the-Continent

    • Pete, as a follower of Jesus Christ, I don’t “wish I could just kill people I don’t like”, and you don’t speak for me when you say, “like y’all do.”

      • I will let Pete speak for himself, and I certainly see your objection, RP. But I think you’re misinterpreting what Pete meant. I think his comment only makes sense as a paraphrasing of Barack’s thoughts. I interpreted it to mean that Barack was saying he admired Africa because the killing was easy and that one can seemingly get away with any abomination there. Is that right, Pete? That certainly seems the situation in about half the continent. So, “ya’ll” doesn’t refer to us at all, but the African militias, regular troops, dictators, etc. I could be wrong, but I know Pete’s opinion of Barack and his opinion of his thoughts and motivations certainly squares with that, and he’s expressed it pretty consistently.

        I deleted the comment because it was not clear who it referenced, and it could be interpreted as a threat against the POTUS, which we are not interested in hosting here.

        • barnslayer says:

          And thus we may learn to appreciate the value of punctuation.

        • Grunt,
          Thank you for adding that potential explanation. The comment, as it originally stood, easily could have been construed as a threat against the POTUS, and I don’t think that any of the admins here support that point of view. I hope you are correct about the comment missing quotes, but even on that, I don’t like it when anyone (liberal or conservative) uses literal quotes to put words in someone else’s mouth and pretend that the person said something which they never really said publicly.

          Pete,
          I don’t want to be too harsh on you, especially if I misinterpreted your comment, but I will speak up if/when I see things that I think are not consistent with the “For God, Family, and Country” mission of this blog. I hope we all (including myself) are open to brotherly correction, in the love of Jesus Christ.

        • Pistol Pete says:

          Grunt,you are exactly on point.I apologize for any misconstrusion.I would never disrespect anyone connected with this blog or people of Faith.I’d like to think i have more class than that.

      • Pistol Pete says:

        You missed the point,Red…these are Obama’s imaginary words,since his African brothers deal with their opponents this way and he can’t.

        • I’m glad it was a misunderstanding. Your first paragraph had quotes, but your second paragraph did not, so it appeared to be your own thoughts, not the supposed thoughts of the POTUS.

  9. Get this: I’m stuck in the Patrick Henry Airport in Newport News, VA because our plane got delayed, and can’t show up until 11:45. We were just instructed that we couldn’t leave the terminal before the plane arrives, because TSA is shutting down and going home.

    With all the cashola we’re paying TSA, they can’t be bothered to stick around until the planes leave the airport. This is a tiny little airport, but they have 50 agents standing around doing nothing, until 10:30 pm, and then they all leave so they don’t miss last call at the bars. Man, I hate the government. This is like a grossly more wasteful version of the Post Office.

  10. texan59 says:

    I can not believe this. Another e-mail snafu from the administration. These folks have more problems with their computers than I do. /s

    http://dailycaller.com/2014/08/07/obama-official-deleted-obamacare-emails-sought-by-congress/

  11. Aussie says:

    just logging in to say hello after being offline for a week. My computer is now zinging along after it was fixed. However, since I needed a clean reinstall, I have to start all over again and there is a lot of work involved. Tomorrow I will add back my speakers and the external hard drive :).

    As for other news, and I have to blow my own trumpet, I have now reached the age of being a senior, or at least I am now eligible for the senior’s card!! I had a nice birthday with a double celebration the following day when we met up with family.

Leave a Reply

