Open Thread, Monday 1 September 2014

Aurora Borealis from spce. From here: http://imgur.com/gallery/YWpCA

Aurora Borealis from spce. From here: http://imgur.com/gallery/YWpCA

About zmalfoy

Z. Malfoy is a practicing Catholic-with-an-"interesting"-past. She earned her Bachelor's Degree in Music Education (Spec. Voice) from Loyola University New Orleans, and has since taken a few business courses to expand her knowledge base. In her free time, she studies belly-dance, alchemy, theology, and various skills related to self-sufficiency. She also enjoys reading science fiction, refreshing her French, and watching anime. She recently started with learning Krav Maga and Russian.
This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Open Thread, Monday 1 September 2014

  1. barnslayer says:

    This seemed appropriate on Labor Day.

  2. BTW, I’ve begun de-Gruntifying the blog today as I have time. Any personal Grunt touches will be removed. I won’t touch anything else. Maybe I’ll keep my posts here, but I’ll probably shadow them over on my personal blog. I’ve killed off my description of what I think the blog is about on the ‘About’ page, since I have no idea. RP, as blog owner, will fill it in as he has time. He and the other founders agree on what it should be, and I do not. Further, not a single person has stood up to back me up on any of my reservations. Not one. So I’ll go see if I can write some stuff at Polination for a while if they’ll take me in. That’s where you’ll probably find me.

    • barnslayer says:

      I don’t see the hurry Grunt. I guess I just hoped 4GFC would remain the nice place it started out as. The girl you take home to meet your parents so to speak, knowing full well I could get rowdy at WZ.

      This is not in any way a condemnation of what was posted or free speech. It was more of a hope we would show more restraint here. For the most part we did. But I did see a trend headed in that direction. GFC has always been the unattainable role model. His presence helped keep me in line. You and I are more the let’s have fun guys trying to balance it all. I never got as academic as the rest of you do here but I always appreciated and admired your efforts and abilities. If anyone doesn’t fit in here it’s me not you.

      You guys built a good thing here. Don’t screw it up over some crap that you actually all agree on to some degree. In my mind if you leave we may as well shut the whole thing down. You’ve got too much in common to let that happen.

      • Thanks, Barn. I appreciate that. And how is it that you “don’t fit in???” You would fit in anywhere there are good people. 🙂

        It’s not that I’m ‘leaving’. I’m just going to be writing somewhere else. It’s not personal. I may comment now and then. And there’s no hurry.

        I just can’t argue about this any more. I don’t have it in me. I firmly believe that the “unattainable goal” is for the next life. In this life, we are forced to wade through the muck in order to save souls. That’s why Christ ate with the tax collectors and prostitutes. I thought he made that clear? By refusing to do so here, I believe we are sinning, and sinning in the biggest way possible. Look at the Parable of the Talents. God will not be pleased with us for hiding our treasure away in a hole in the ground.

        Ironically, RP and GFC think I’m arguing for ‘tolerance’ here. In reality, I am the most intolerant one because I cannot stand to be around their sin of isolating themselves. It horrifies me that they can’t see that for what it is. I’m moving on because I am called to minister in the real world. You guys will be fine in your paradise. It’s been great hanging with such good people. Enjoy!

        • barnslayer says:

          Not paradise Grunt. More a place to re-align. A cigar lounge away from the everyday noise. We all know it’s out there. We discuss it here all the time. It’s just nice to come here and not need to look to see if anyone urinated on the sofa. Plenty of that elsewhere.
          Yes, Christ spent time and effort with all walks. That was His message that He was everyone’s Savior. But He also spent time with His disciples. You wouldn’t get much out of a Bible study group if half the guys were loud-mouthed atheists. Neither this blog nor any other can be all things to all people… even if all members are Christian. Not everyone here is a Catholic but we seemed to get along okay anyways. I don’t know what GFC or RP experience in their daily lives. Maybe they are insulating themselves. Or maybe they need the respite available here.
          My advice and request is you, GFC, Knight, Zoph, and RP be yourselves. Be patient with each others’ differences and celebrate our commonalities. All of you must admit we have much more in common than that which divides us.

  3. barnslayer says:

    Spanish lesson of the day.
    “Me llama es Llama”

Leave a Reply

