Open Thread, Wednesday September 10 2014

Argentinian mountain range

Hornocal Mountain Range photographed by Kevin Zaouali

This entry was posted in Cool Photos, Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Open Thread, Wednesday September 10 2014

  1. zmalfoy says:

    Ooooooooooooo ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ! Very pretty!

  2. zmalfoy says:

    Oh, guys! Guys! They found another Masamune blade!: http://en.rocketnews24.com/2014/09/09/scholars-confirm-first-discovery-of-japanese-sword-from-master-bladesmith-masamune-in-150-years/

    Yes, I totally geek-flailed! in my cube when I saw this. . .:D

    • ZurichMike says:

      You crack me up! LOL! On a related topic, what did you think of the Kill Bill movies? Like a Japanese comic come to life.

      • zmalfoy says:

        I love the Kill Bill Movies! First, they are such a wonderful homage to all manner of Japanese stories, whether plays or manga or novels, while also having more than a touch of gritty western in them. (Which is why it was no surprise when O-Ren Ishii’s back-story is related as an anime, and The Bride’s wedding is in a small church in El Paso.) And so wonderfully cast!

        I think I really fell in love with them, though, when partway through watching the first one for the first time, I realized that Tarantino was telling a legend, a myth, dealing very blatantly with archetypes. For instance, before you know her name, you only know her as “The Bride”– a women who wakes from a coma to believe that the man she loved has killed the child she was pregnant with while she was under. All her assassin foes are named for extraordinarily venomous snakes. Once you get the point that she is serious about destroying them for the crime of killing her unborn child, then you learn that her name is, of all things, Beatrix.

        I don’t think Tarantino realized what archetype he’d tapped into, though apparently it was Uma Therman who decided her first name, so she may have had an inkling. I dunno.

        Certainly, they earn their R rating. But, if Tarantino-violence and Tarantino-language can be withstood, they are quite excellently done!

  3. http://www.foxnews.com/world/2014/08/21/un-spends-millions-on-security-programs-for-terror-afflicted-somalia-without/

    Why do we even participate with the UN? They are outrageous in “unaccountable” actions accountable to nobody it appears. So let’s throw some more money at it or just sweep it under the carpet. what’s a few million these days anyway. It’s already spent anyway.

    • ZurichMike says:

      I am truly of the belief that the UN has long, long outlived any usefulness and moral authority it may have had. Count me in the group that says “US out of the UN, UN out of the the US”.

  4. Harvey says:

    Here is a pic from the top of Cheyenne Mountain overlooking Colorado Springs (photo by Mark Reis of Colorado Springs Gazette).

  5. ZurichMike says:

    Today’s verse: โ€œEven to your old age, I am He, And even to gray hairs I will carry you! I have made, and I will bear; Even I will carry, and will deliver you.โ€

    Ya know, this is the *second* time in a week that the verse is aimed at people like me (older, gray hairs (those that I have left)). I am feeling just a little bit . . . well . . . . old! LOL!

Leave a Reply

