Open Thread, Wednesday 17 September 2014

Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Open Thread, Wednesday 17 September 2014

  1. Done in Convention by the Unanimous Consent of the States present the Seventeenth Day of September in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and Eighty seven and of the Independence of the United States of America the Twelfth. In Witness whereof We have hereunto subscribed our Names.

    Go Washington – President and deputy from Virginia

    New Hampshire – John Langdon, Nicholas Gilman

    Massachusetts – Nathaniel Gorham, Rufus King

    Connecticut – Wm Saml Johnson, Roger Sherman

    New York – Alexander Hamilton

    New Jersey – Wil Livingston, David Brearley, Wm Paterson, Jona. Dayton

    Pensylvania – B Franklin, Thomas Mifflin, Robt Morris, Geo. Clymer, Thos FitzSimons, Jared Ingersoll, James Wilson, Gouv Morris

    Delaware – Geo. Read, Gunning Bedford jun, John Dickinson, Richard Bassett, Jaco. Broom

    Maryland – James McHenry, Dan of St Tho Jenifer, Danl Carroll

    Virginia – John Blair, James Madison Jr.

    North Carolina – Wm Blount, Richd Dobbs Spaight, Hu Williamson

    South Carolina – J. Rutledge, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, Pierce Butler

    Georgia – William Few, Abr Baldwin

    Attest: William Jackson, Secretary

  2. Hey GFC’ers,
    We have still had no real resolution about how we should govern the posting of material on the blog. I would suggest having a pow wow post where we make our arguments and decide. Any seconds? RP, as owner of the blog, you would need to be involved, even if you’ve hesitated to provide any input so far.

    In the meantime, since there are no hard feelings and (I think) all is made up and nothing’s been ruled out and GFCinthatorder has agreed to stop watchdogging comments for the moment, I have begun to add most of my stuff back onto the blog, such as the header and the ‘about’ page and some of the pics.

    However, even though things could technically go back to normal after we decide on a few things, I’d like to make another suggestion. Since we have a close relationship with PoliNation and cross post a lot, and all of us struggle to provide enough content for both blogs, I’d like to propose a merger. I’ve already talked to them about this idea, and they’re open to it.

    Some have suggested that the men (here) might not be entirely welcome or comfortable in what is often considered a “ladies” blog, despite the strong presence (there) of PistolPete. But from the very beginning, Rose, the founder of PN, stated that she didn’t want it to be a ladies-only operation and didn’t want the look to drive the men off. Perhaps they would be willing to allow the look to change slightly, perhaps in the addition of a sidebar or some photos or link lists, that would make the men more comfortable. Most of the PN women are, after all, from military families. Those kinds of things could be discussed. But for now, I’d just like to propose the idea. I, for one, have already started posting over there and like it. We’re all pretty like-minded. What do you think?

    • barnslayer says:

      I’ll bring the guns. You bring da wimmins!

    • Shalini says:

      Whatever works for you guys… As a partially active participant of this blog (who has been quietly watching what’s been happening for the past few weeks), there is nothing more I can say. As for me, I think I quit. After seeing 3 blog meltdowns and one almost meltdown, I finally have realised it isn’t the Kevins or SDs or whoever of the world. Human nature being what it is, it’s bound to happen again and then what? I am sad and tired seeing all of this. God bless you all. And may His Spirit always guide you.

      • barnslayer says:

        Hi Shalini. Yes people fight, sometimes over seemingly petty differences. And like you said it’s human nature. He made us imperfect. Maybe as a test to see how we would work things out. I’ve been married for 34 years. We argue, we make up, we fight again. We’re not clones. But we love each other dearly and are grateful for each and every day together. Is it different with a blog? Yes and no. Cyber family must take a back seat to flesh and blood. Yet technology has enabled us to have this, heretofore impossible, extended family. God has used this to allow his children, many who would never been able to, to meet and discuss the world, share our problems and our blessings. Considering the critical situation of His peoples around the globe, this was no accident.
        Whatever you choose to do, be well and live free.

      • Yet, if we remain faithful and hopeful, He allows good things to come from human weakness. I’m actually really excited because we have the chance now to unite 2 separate communities that have been divided by other events. I’m convinced that PN and 4GFC belong together and would work better that way because we would achieve critical mass of contributors. This could be our chance to do that. We all know each other and have common values and a common struggle. Why did we decide to go independent in the first place? Might that not have been vanity? To think that such a small group could somehow be better or more unified or more godly or just because we wanted to do it “our way?” That sounds like vanity to me. Perhaps this is our chance to fix a mistake from 2 years ago.

        • barnslayer says:

          I don’t think it was vanity. It think it was preservation. When you get kicked out of somewhere you might think “Well, that sucked. Let’s avoid that”. Rather than “Well, that sucked. Let’s see who else hates us”. I don’t want to see us go our separate ways so if that means joining up with like mind others, that’s seems okay. It’s just that each blog has it’s own vibe and PoliNation (from my outsider perspective) seems a bit highbrow and genteel.

          • See, I thought so, too, at first. But now, we’re the ones who are afraid to say anything too lowbrow in our discussions. We’re the ones with unattainably high standards that limit what we can say.

            • freedom1781 says:

              Grunt, I agree with Barn that each blog has its own vibe. I think genteel is a good description of PN, there’s nothing wrong with that. The “manly” look of this blog has never bothered me one bit and I feel like I don’t have to act like a lady around here, which is nice since acting like a proper Southern genteel lady does get tiresome, I do declare… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

            • barnslayer says:

              I get what you’re saying but even in our early days were were more laid back than they appear to be. I’m not finding fault, just pointing out differences. Yes we’ve gotten our collective panties in a twist of late. But that’s not our normal tone. We hit a bad spot and I regret even chiming in back then. I was just trying to be referee and botched it big time.

              I like to think we were the fun part of the conservative fleehouse (sic). Just like you don’t want to have to muzzle yourself around here (me neither) I don’t want to put on that itchy wool suit over there. No offense ladies.

              • I don’t think you botched anything, Barn

                And I’m not really pushing (very hard) to get anyone to move. I just think they have got past this kind of thing and have settled into their groove better than us. I also gently disagree with the itchy wool suit analogy. Pete is always an irreverent riot over there and Chrissy uses more colorful language in a single post than we do all year.

                And it might be a good thing. We have too strong opinions here (GFC and Me) who have reached stalemate. We (all of us) *might* be better off in a place where neither me nor GFC has founder power any more. We might flourish better in a place where neither sets policy, since we can’t fix this and nobody else is willing to stand up and settle it. Just my take.

              • I should point out that they’re in the process of getting a testosterone injection over there. The Garden is getting a smelly tool shed and maybe a garage where Pete and me can kick back and belch and Solaratov can have his shooting stuff up if he wants. We’ll have to see how it goes, but it could be a good thing.

      • freedom1781 says:

        Oh Shalini, I totally understand how you feel. I am sad and tired of seeing blogs meltdown, too. I have been quietly watching, also. I’ve begun to re-evaluate how much time I actually do spend on political blogs, etc. Some things are changing in my real life that need more of my attention. I’ll still post here and visit when I can, no matter what form the future blog takes; you are all like family to me.

        • I’m glad you feel that way, Freedom. I feel the same way. Even if I might not be that active, I would always be around. You guys are all family.

          • texan59 says:

            Hmmmmm. Just listening.

              • texan59 says:

                I would ask how everyone’s doing, but I’m gonna take a pass on that one. Having been on here pretty much since the beginning, I hate to see what’s happened. I’ve sorta straddled two worlds for awhile and I’m not here to pick sides, but I thought this was a site that could talk about the events of the day with a little dark and sometimes bawdy humor without taking it too far. I don’t think it ever went over that line, but not being involved in the back side of things, I don’t know what straw it was that got things started, but I am just going to lay low until this thing works it way out. One way or another. I’ve missed hanging out, but I don’t have the time, nor the stomach to watch another pissing contest. Jusqu’Γ  ce que nous nous revoyions. πŸ˜‰

  3. Coyote says:

    dude….what did I miss? Was there a meltdown somewheres?

    maybe you all forgot something basic….very basic….

    like…living your REAL life the way that pisses off the liberals. Then…after you’ve done THAT, then you come in here and tell us how and what you did to have fun! See…I think you all let the liberals live rent-free in your heads and fester under your skin like a rotting heroin junkie needle infection. Don’t let them in there like that. Fight back. By living righteously the way YOU want to.

    You all spend TOO much time online. In here.
    Don’t worry. The real FGFCs will be back around to read and enlighten and to be enlightened.

    It’s all about balance man…balance.

    Don’t let the bastards win. Live LIFE. Fire back at will and we will all follow suit.

Leave a Reply

