Open Thread, Thursday 18 September 2014

Image | This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Open Thread, Thursday 18 September 2014

  1. freedom1781 says:

    I love today’s Bible verse.

    • Thank you for bringing it to my attention Freedom. It is definitely a worthy one to mention. 🙂

      • freedom1781 says:

        The Bible verse of the day is one of my favorite feature on this blog; I use Biblegateway.com almost every day.

        The series that my pastor is currently preaching is called “Life’s Too Short.” He always starts out his sermon with Ephesians 5:15-16. He wants us all to memorize and live by it:

        Ephesians 5:15-16New International Version (NIV)
        15 Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

        It’s very hard to do these days.

  2. Beautiful Half Dome photo, Knight! I’ve never seen that one, and didn’t even know they’d had a fire up on the back slope like that.

  3. Knight4GFC says:

    Yesterday’s lava updates.

    September 17, 2014 — Kīlauea
    June 27th lava flow continues advancing northeast in Kaohe Homesteads
    http://hvo.wr.usgs.gov/multimedia/index.php?newSearch=true&display=custom&volcano=1&resultsPerPage=20

    Recent Kilauea Status Reports, Updates, and Information Releases
    http://hvo.wr.usgs.gov/activity/kilaueastatus.php

  4. solaratov says:

    Interesting. This article asserts that Ebola was “invented” (man-made); and that a vaccine has existed for 8-10 years.
    http://www.thecommonsenseshow.com/2014/09/17/the-cdc-nih-bill-gates-own-the-patents-on-existing-ebola-related-vaccines-mandatory-vaccinations-are-near/

  5. freedom1781 says:

    Investigator Says He Found Multiple ‘Fake Cell Towers’ Near White House, Russian Embassy

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2014/09/18/investigator-says-he-found-multiple-fake-cell-towers-near-white-house-around-d-c/

    • barnslayer says:

      I never felt cell phones had any kind of security. Remember wireless phones for land lines? Glorified radios. As a kid I also remember hearing CB and taxis on my transistor radio. Didn’t Lucille Ball claim she heard voices from her dental fillings?

      • freedom1781 says:

        Yep. Before my neighbors got rid of their land lines, I could sometimes hear their phone conversations if I was in a certain part of my yard talking on my wireless phone. Creepy. It made me think twice about what I talk about on the phone. Call me paranoid, but I am careful about what I say on the phone.

  6. solaratov says:

    Actual comments from cooking blogs……

    Every Comment on Recipe Blogs

    “I didn’t have any eggs, so I replaced them with a banana-chia-flaxseed pulse. It turned out terrible; this recipe is terrible.”

    “I don’t have any of these ingredients at home. Could you rewrite this based on the food I do have in my house? I’m not going to tell you what food I have. You have to guess.”

    “I don’t eat white flour, so I tried making it with raw almonds that I’d activated by chewing them with my mouth open to receive direct sunlight, and it turned out terrible. This recipe is terrible.”

    “Could you please give the metric weight measurements, and sometime in the next twenty minutes; I’m making this for a dinner party and my guests are already here.”

    • barnslayer says:

      This is testimony to how easy computers have become. They sound like they were written by someone that couldn’t find their own (fill in the blank) with both hands and a map. More disconcerting is the idea of this person voting.

  7. solaratov says:

    Even the doctors on the scene think that it’s a bad idea to send US troops to “combat” Ebola. Quarantine is what they recommend…but D’OHbama won’t do that. (It’d be racist, don’tcha know.)

    http://www.wnd.com/2014/09/doctors-irresponsible-to-send-troops-to-combat-ebola/

Leave a Reply

