OPEN THREAD SUNDAY,AUGUST 31

bible-quotes-with-pictures-having-inspirational-bible-verses-wallpaper-for-your-personal-67616-666x499

This entry was posted in Open Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to OPEN THREAD SUNDAY,AUGUST 31

  1. Blessed Sunday, All. I’m off to mass in Hampton. Or maybe Williamsburg. Haven’t decided yet. Better move, I guess…

    • freedom1781 says:

      I hear great things about St. Bede in Williamsburg, though it’s far away from Hampton. I don’t know of any good Catholic churches in Hampton but I’m sure you’ll find one.

      • Thanks, Freedom. I’ve been up to St. Bede’s before, and that’s a good one. Coincidentally, the same pastor we knew up there is now down in Hampton at Immaculate Conception in the Coliseum area. That’s where I ended up today. Padre Prince preached good as ever. He’s pretty young, but he’s been to Haiti and Africa (I think) on missions, and he’s got some good perspective and some good stories, from what I’ve seen. One of these days I’ll have to make it up to Yorktown and see what the preachin’s like up there.

  2. solaratov says:

    “Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters.”

    Daniel Webster

    • freedom1781 says:

      Hi Sol! It’s so good to “see” you here! How ya doin’? I think about and pray for you a lot.

      • solaratov says:

        Hi. Freedom. I’m doing OK. Good days and bad. I do appreciate all of the prayers that you have offered for me.
        I wanted you and your youngling to know that I did finally get the card that you sent. Thank you very much for that. It really is special.

    • barnslayer says:

      Well said! It’s always for the children or for your own good… when nothing of the sort is their goal.
      I’m glad to see you posting more frequently and pray daily for your health.
      In case you didn’t see it…. I posted my reaction to my first session with my CZ97B.
      AWESOME!!! I was hesitant due to the size and jump in caliber over the Glock 9mm. It handled well. Was steady on target (tighter groups with the CZ than the Glock). Nice trigger. Made the Glock feel like junk by comparison. Thank you for the recommendation!

      • I’m really jealous of that CZ. Barn. Hope you enjoy it!

        • barnslayer says:

          Thanks Grunt. If you compare prices for steel frame .45’s it’s a bargain. Way cheaper than a Colt. CZ firearms in general are a good buy, including shotguns. Do you shoot pistols? I figure it’s less of a hassle in CO.

          • Much less, really. That’s why I’m ashamed I haven’t taken advantage and done more pistol shooting. I’ve only got that one S&W, and we shoot it a fair amount to stay in practice, but my kid wants a Glock and I want a CZ. Thanks for the review from your first shakedown cruise!

      • solaratov says:

        Everybody loves the accuracy of the 97B. And according to some who have measured them, the 97 is marginally thinner than the 1911 and no larger in other dimensions. You are well-armed, indeed, with that piece. I’m giving serious thought to converting one to single-action, since I prefer that. (I’ll bet one could also be adapted with a 10mm Auto barrel, springs and magazine…just for funsies.)
        Also, if I’m not mistaken (and I so rarely am 😉 ), you can use EAA magazines to feed the 97. They are a bit less than the $36 CZ mags.; and are reliable.

        • barnslayer says:

          Thanks Sol! Definitely gonna check out the magazines. Once I started actually shooting it the size wasn’t an issue. I’ve read on a CZ forum about guys sending their pistols in for trigger jobs, some to shorten the pull length. I just don’t like the looks of the straight triggers they’re ending up with. But then again I’ve never tried one either.

          • solaratov says:

            That sort of trigger is mainly for target and games. You can keep the original trigger if you want…just have it modified a bit.
            (Take a look at the trigger on a Browning Hi-Power…and that’s a single-action.) And, take a look at the almost straight trigger on the CZ-75B Single Action. It’s not quite straight and is pretty comfortable.

Leave a comment